Accessing non-OS drive using Mint.

linuxfriend

Reaction score
Credits
Hi,
I wanted to try out Linux and installed Linux Mint on a USB.
During booting process I select USB from the menu and Mint just works.
As a developer I can not express the feeling of joy I had when it loaded the desktop. No less than magic :)
I have been using it for over a month now and the experience is very good to say the least.

Now I want to go to the next level of installing it on the HDD.
This is a classic case of having Windows already and dual boot.

My laptop has two partitions C and D.
C has Win8 on it and I have to stay with it, at least for a while, for the job purpose.
D has data on it like photos, music and anything and everything that a mortal would have.

The question I have is, if I install Mint along side Win8, will Mint be able to access the D drive?
Currently when I run it through the USB and try to write something onto D it's Read Only.

Appreciate any help.
Thanks in advance and take care.

The question I have is, if I install Mint along side Win8, will Mint be able to access the D drive?
Yes, it can. It should be able to access it now. (See below)

Be careful that your C: drive has enough room for both operating systems. Mint will split this partition into two (so you'll have at least 3 total, possibly more, depending on circumstances). It's usually a good idea to run a full defrag on C: before you begin so it can maximize the free space for Linux. A full defrag can take a long time. Also be sure to make a good backup of anything important on both C: and D: drives in case things go badly. It happens sometimes, even with people more experienced than you.

Currently when I run it through the USB and try to write something onto D it's Read Only.