Any changes to make in bootloader while switching distros?

FlammableRope38

Reaction score
Credits
I am using a dual boot system with Ubuntu and Windows. However, I would like to switch from Ubuntu to PopOS, to try it out, while still maintaining Windows. It's my first time switching distros. So I was wondering was there any changes that I have to make to the bootloader before, during or after the installation of PopOS.

maybe try it live from a usb first , which doesn't involve any commitment if you don't like it ?

Main principle is - you can change bootloader only after you install something. Here you have two links for POP OS install - POP Install and POP Dual Boot With Windows. You can firstly install POP and then Windows. In Windows check Bootice soft, which you can find through Google.

a screenshot of your hd would be good using gParted.

If your Windows is ok , leave it there along with efi partition if you have it.

So basically a direct replacement from buntu to popOs should be Ok , i don't know off hand the difference in install size though.You 've also checked which architecture i guess 64 bit?The new install should also re-install grub. Once you've installed new popOs run
sudo update-grub, that will update it and it should include Windows.

For new installs dual boot Windows and linux i always used to install Windows first for 2 reasons :

1) you can do a disk sort out using Windows defrag
2) if you install Windows last its totally selfish , no regard to anything else awill affect boot menu.

a screenshot of your hd would be good using gParted.

If your Windows is ok , leave it there along with efi partition if you have it.

So basically a direct replacement from buntu to popOs should be Ok , i don't know off hand the difference in install size though.You 've also checked which architecture i guess 64 bit?The new install should also re-install grub. Once you've installed new popOs run