Are we suffering attempted DDoS attacks.

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,808
Reaction score
3,447
Credits
35,029
I think there are a lot of attacks going on today. Might have something to do with the Russia/Ukraine conflict. I was getting 500 errors from a lot of websites I visited this morning, including Linux.org, crunchyroll and several others.
Everything seems to be OK ATM. Websites seem to be responding normally now.
It's a Cloudflare issue this time.
Screenshot_2022-06-21_09-54-53.png
 


CrazedNerd

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
534
Reaction score
217
Credits
4,558
I think there are a lot of attacks going on today. Might have something to do with the Russia/Ukraine conflict. I was getting 500 errors from a lot of websites I visited this morning, including Linux.org, crunchyroll and several others.
Everything seems to be OK ATM. Websites seem to be responding normally now.
Or more specifically, continued anxiety and economic failure: maybe there are more desperate attempts to unsuccessfully hack websites for money and user data.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
6,467
Reaction score
5,727
Credits
52,033
I like to think this demonstrates why it's bad for one service provider to dominate the market, but nobody will learn all that much from this.

CF dominates the market - and their free tier is delightful. Oddly, a paid plan jumps up a bunch from zero, but that's not all that important. The important bit is that CF dominates the market with 82% of the CDN market - though that's only like 20% of the web.

But, it's a 'big 20%' meaning that 20% is made up of some pretty major companies.

With recent changes in the way Google handles ranking, you'll see more sites moving to a CDN and they're predominantly going to pick CF, if the past is any indication.
 

Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
499
Reaction score
406
Credits
6,114
Thought I'd just report I got an error 500 this morning. CF said only the server was down. Nothing related to a (D)DoS attack, but not worth starting a thread just to report it about 10 AM (GMT +2).
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,676
Reaction score
4,047
Credits
26,656
502 bad gateway errors ...approx 7.30 pm Sydney Time.

Lasted for around 15 minutes.
 
OP
Brickwizard

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
2,668
Reaction score
1,768
Credits
19,966
I have had 4 drop-outs this morning, not spotted any excessive load around the 400 mark, perhaps cloud fair are still having problems
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,676
Reaction score
4,047
Credits
26,656
I have been unable to connect....bad gateway errors.....since 14:30pm sydney time....to 15:15....So 45 minutes approx. in all
 
Last edited:

CrazedNerd

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
534
Reaction score
217
Credits
4,558
i had a bad gateway error 5-10 minutes ago but now i'm fine
 

bob466

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
362
Reaction score
272
Credits
2,698
Checking your browser again for 20 seconds...when I type a reply to a thread and click...Post reply...I get ooops we've got a problem and the only way out is to copy my reply to Libre office because if I don't it's gone... hit F5 and copy and paste it back...not good.
m19095.gif
 
OP
Brickwizard

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
2,668
Reaction score
1,768
Credits
19,966
Checking your browser again for 20 seconds
I am getting it once a day when I first log on, it's all part of the increased security @Rob had to instigate a week or so ago
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,321
Reaction score
6,205
Credits
25,059
Bob remind me if it's Sydney or Melbourne you are from (I seem to remember Sydney).

We have Gabriel @gvisoc from Sydney, Brian @Condobloke is at Glen Innes near the smart side (Qld) of the border.

I am from Applethorpe near Stanthorpe in the curly bit of the Qld border, we may be able to compare notes.

only way out is to copy my reply to Libre office because if I don't it's gone...

Not the only way - when I start to respond to a Thread, if there is going to be some length to it, I go on the toolbar to the far right set of vertical dots and choose Save Draft.

Wiz
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,676
Reaction score
4,047
Credits
26,656
No unforeseen problems here
just the 5 second delay while it checks my browser, and thats that
 

gvisoc

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 29, 2020
Messages
416
Reaction score
487
Credits
4,265
No 502’s today around the NSW’s Central Coast, yes some cloudflare browser checks.
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,321
Reaction score
6,205
Credits
25,059
Thanks guys

Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi
 

bob466

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
362
Reaction score
272
Credits
2,698
Bob remind me if it's Sydney or Melbourne you are from (I seem to remember Sydney).

We have Gabriel @gvisoc from Sydney, Brian @Condobloke is at Glen Innes near the smart side (Qld) of the border.

I am from Applethorpe near Stanthorpe in the curly bit of the Qld border, we may be able to compare notes.



Not the only way - when I start to respond to a Thread, if there is going to be some length to it, I go on the toolbar to the far right set of vertical dots and choose Save Draft.

Wiz

Yes I'm in Sydney where it's rain...rain and more bloody rain.
mad0086.gif
 

bob466

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
362
Reaction score
272
Credits
2,698
I am getting it once a day when I first log on, it's all part of the increased security @Rob had to instigate a week or so ago

Some days are worse than others...it also happens with other browsers too.
mad0014.gif
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Top