boot does not show usb option

ydg

Reaction score
Credits
I have a windows 10 system and trying to dual boot linux.
I am following step by step this link:
but right at the usb -installer step, the option fat32ffd doesn't show,
so I am forced to choose UUI 337GB NTFS HDD.
After going to "disk management" I have tried to select "shrink volume"
first on C: and then, since it didn't work, on D: .
Anyway, both options gave me the same problem.
Once I restart the system and I press F12, the USB option does not show.
I have been trying and playing with the system for awhile now, but nothing seems to work.
Thanks

Did you first burn the ISO to the usb drive with a utility such as Rufus so the the usb drive becomes bootable?

Unfortunately, as a beginner, I am not sure what you mean, but anyway, I doubt I have done any of the things that you suggested, since I have never heard of Rufus, and I followed step by step the directions on the link I posted above, which doesn't mention anything regarding bootability, ISO and so on. Keep in mind that the link I am following instructs to use a "virtual" USB.

I'm a newbie too but here's what I know, you do not want to install Linux in "virtual", what I believe that means is install Linux inside of Windows, kind of like software running inside of Windows, Linux would be running inside of Windows. I don't think that's what you want, most people install Linux so that it runs as an operating system independent of Windows. I think what you are looking to do is to install Linux alongside windows so that when you turn on the computer you can choose which operating system to launch.