Can I use a NVME SSD ?

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,754
Reaction score
3,361
Credits
18,505
Specs:

ASRock Motherboard

B150M Pro4

I would like to install a nvme ssd, but am unsure if that motherboard will support it.

Perhaps it will support it with a NVME PCIe Adapter ?

Out of my depth here.....

A nvme I have looked at is
HERE

An adapter I have looked at is HERE
 


arochester

Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,555
Reaction score
1,226
Credits
2,582

 
OP
Condobloke

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,754
Reaction score
3,361
Credits
18,505
same forum appears to not return any result for a B150M pro 4 ...<<<<<No 's'
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,907
Reaction score
2,640
Credits
28,241
The Crucial P2 Nvme M.2 ssd works on other distributions so I would think it should work on Mint as well, the other one is just an adapter so I wouldn't expect any problems with it but can't be 100% sure. With my current system I didn't look up any of the hardware and it all works, Crucial is a known brand and not one of thos you have never heard of so I doubt that it wouldn't work. I would just buy since it isn't too expensive anyways and if it doesn't you got yourself a fun project of trying to get it to work or you can just send it back.
 
OP
Condobloke

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,754
Reaction score
3,361
Credits
18,505
My main concern is will it actually "fit" on the motherboard
 

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
958
Credits
9,474
As far as I am aware [not done it myself] It can be done [but may not be simple] using a PCIe slot and adapter, it can work with PCIe-1 but better results from PCIe-4 [depending on what slots you have available as the adapters can vary] but you will need a boot loader [if you you plan to use it as the boot drive ]the BIOS can recognise, Clover EFI bootloader, is the one most of my contacts recommend
.sorry but that's all i can say. I think you need to do some more research tomorrow
B
 
OP
Condobloke

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,754
Reaction score
3,361
Credits
18,505
At this point, I may just settle for a normal SSD and a new data cable.

It is becoming more complex by the second.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,907
Reaction score
2,640
Credits
28,241
This is the picture from amazon where the adapter is fit into a pci express slot and this is your motherboard. As you can see to the left there are two pci express slots so it should fit.
 
OP
Condobloke

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,754
Reaction score
3,361
Credits
18,505
I will look at that again in the morning....I am a bit bleary eyed right now.

Thanks everyone for your help thus far.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
4,060
Reaction score
3,733
Credits
32,598
It's actually really easy. You buy the PCIe adapter and the M.2 NVMe drive. The adapter has a slot in it and the drive slides right in and can be fixed in place. From there, you just plug the adapter into your PCIe slot and Bob's your uncle.

If you have a small/thin case, get the 'low profile' PCIe adapter.
 

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
967
Credits
9,874
My main concern is will it actually "fit" on the motherboard
According to this link your mobo does support NVME SSD.-;)
Scrool down till you see "slots"

Code:
*Supports NVMe SSD as boot disks


Before you purchase the NVMe and the PCI adapter, you might want to open the case and look at the mobo to make sure it will fit. I would:-
 

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
967
Credits
9,874
That's a really sweet mobo!
 
OP
Condobloke

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,754
Reaction score
3,361
Credits
18,505
Is there a 'preference' for which pcie slot ?

Either pcie 1 ...or pcie 4 ..?

I am beginning to get the picture... @arochester's links were correct after all, it would seem that the nvme card will support 'boot'

I just found the specs for the actual card....HERE
Slots
- 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x16 Slots (PCIE1: x16 mode; PCIE4: x4 mode)*
- 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x1 Slots (Flexible PCIe)
- Supports AMD Quad CrossFireX™ and CrossFireX™

*Supports NVMe SSD as boot disk

@Alexzee ....thanks mate !...I just spotted your posts.

I have the case open....and I am fairly sure I could park a Mack truck in there !

I do like to make my research accurate, and seeing both you and I both found the same info, ...it is therefore accurate.

I was a little concerned at one stage that a boot loader may have been necessary as per @brickwizard's findings.

It is quite amazing what a good nights sleep can do !!!!....I was suffering from kgiii syndrome last night....too much wine....too little rest.

It is a good mobo. Despite the fact that it now approx 7/6 (?) years old, it continues to tick the boxes !!!

I have upgraded my choice of nvme to:


.....combined with :


What say you, @Alexzee and @f33dm3bits and @KGIII and @brickwizard ??
 
Last edited:

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
967
Credits
9,874
Is there a 'preference' for which pcie slot ?

Either pcie 1 ...or pcie 4 ..?

I am beginning to get the picture... @arochester's links were correct after all, it would seem that the nvme card will support 'boot'

I just found the specs for the actual card....HERE
Slots
- 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x16 Slots (PCIE1: x16 mode; PCIE4: x4 mode)*
- 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x1 Slots (Flexible PCIe)
- Supports AMD Quad CrossFireX™ and CrossFireX™

*Supports NVMe SSD as boot disk
If PCIe 1 doesn't have anything in the slot than use that first.
 

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
967
Credits
9,874
Is there a 'preference' for which pcie slot ?

Either pcie 1 ...or pcie 4 ..?

I am beginning to get the picture... @arochester's links were correct after all, it would seem that the nvme card will support 'boot'

I just found the specs for the actual card....HERE
Slots
- 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x16 Slots (PCIE1: x16 mode; PCIE4: x4 mode)*
- 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x1 Slots (Flexible PCIe)
- Supports AMD Quad CrossFireX™ and CrossFireX™

*Supports NVMe SSD as boot disk

@Alexzee ....thanks mate !...I just spotted your posts.

I have the case open....and I am fairly sure I could park a Mack truck in there !

I do like to make my research accurate, and seeing both you and I both found the same info, ...it is therefore accurate.

I was a little concerned at one stage that a boot loader may have been necessary as per @brickwizard's findings.

It is quite amazing what a good nights sleep can do !!!!....I was suffering from kgiii syndrome last night....too much wine....too little rest.

It is a good mobo. Despite the fact that it now approx 7/6 (?) years old, it continues to tick the boxes !!!

I have upgraded m choice of nvme to:


.....combined with :


What say you, @Alexzee and @f33dm3bits and @KGIII and @brickwizard ??

I have the Samsung 970 Evo Plus installed on my Asus X570 Tuf Gaming mobo and it boot's Debian in 8 seconds!

Screenshot from 2021-10-02 21-44-15.png
 
Last edited:

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
6,633
Reaction score
5,396
Credits
19,688
OP
Condobloke

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,754
Reaction score
3,361
Credits
18,505

Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
358
Reaction score
270
Credits
4,288
Just mah two cents...

Why do you want an adaptor? There's an M.2 slot on the board? (thanks @f33dm3bits for pics).
Also, Assuming you use a video card, your adaptor will be very close to the bottom headers. One set of them pins be ye audio, so it may be a nuisance, especially once the heatspreader is on (unless the picture is making it look a lot bigger).

Anyway, the adaptor just seems a waste and cumbersome. And a waste of money.

PS: Yes, Crucial is an awesome brand. They're a Micron sub, so their die are their die and they specialise in memory/storage. Also, your board is fcking awesome, especially for a 5+ gen old.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,907
Reaction score
2,640
Credits
28,241
Where do @Alexzee and @Fanboi see an M.2 slot on the board, I checked the motherboard specs but I don't see it mentioned anywhere?
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!


Top