Cannot uninstall software (Manuskript) using Software Manager, Terminal (purge), Synaptics Manager etc, as not showing as installed???

zPuppy

Reaction score
Credits
Puzzled newbie here. So I was trying to use Scrivener on my linux Zorin setup, and after attempting Wine and Bottles install, which did load Scrivener, yet at the size of a postage stamp, I decided alternative options. I installed a few apps over some days and realised that I had two instances of Manuskript installed, I guess from Software Manager install or Flathub install + Terminal install.

To remove conflict of both instances I removed Manuskript or attempted to, using now, Software Manager, terminal purge, and even Synaptics PM.
I still have a version of Manuskript installed, shows up in App Search, loads etc, however it is showing completely uninstalled, and I can find no references to it anywhere?
The demo for Manuskript is Biblical chapters from the Book Of Acts. My only explanation so far for this remaining is some Divine intervention clearly superseding my mere mortal sudo level of control? I would be grateful for any earthly explanations.

Screenshot attached shows Manuskript open in right monitor, Synaptics open in left showing no install of Manuskript

Attachments

• ManuskriptPersists.png
    ManuskriptPersists.png
    1 MB · Views: 152

Is it possible you installed a snap version? Which would not show up as installed in syanptic.
I'm not sure about zorin I know it's based on Ubuntu so that may be a possibility. If that in fact is the case you can uninstall it with this command
Code:
sudo snap remove package_name
If it was a flatpack package use this command to see if it's listed as installed
Code:
flatpak list
and if it is use this command to remove it.
Code:
flatpak uninstall --delete-data App-ID
app-ID is the one listed in the list command.

Last edited: