Cant access BIOS after install

Jovin

Reaction score
Credits
Hi All
I have an old Toshiba Satellite C650-194 which I have breathed new life into with a recent install of Q4OS Centaurus Trinity however it now seems to have completely taken over to such an extent that I cant access the BIOS (usually F2) or boot device menu (F12). No key presses apart from Esc are recognized at boot and the Toshiba logo splash screen has also gone and the machine goes straight to Q4OS boot. When pressing Esc it goes to a GRUB boot menu with the option of normal boot or recovery mode.

I have removed the HDD and tried to boot with a bootable USB key but this is not recognized even tho the BIOS was previously set to USB as the first boot device and I have tried with no boot media but just get a blank screen with flashing cursor and no key presses whatsoever are recognized.

Any suggestions on what has happened and how to recover greatly appreciated. Bear in mind I am new to Linux although have previously been a pc hardware repair engineer for the last 15 years or so.

Currently getting very frustrated and beginning to despise the words "Loading Q4OS....."

Many thanks
John

Toshiba Satellite C650-194
Welcome to the forums.. this may [or not ] work
shut down the system. press F2 while the power is actually off. push power button while holding down F2 at same time.
some systems dont give you much time [my HP only gives a couple of seconds]

Bwiz

Welcome to the forums.. this may [or not ] work
shut down the system. press F2 while the power is actually off. push power button while holding down F2 at same time.
some systems dont give you much time [my HP only gives a couple of seconds]

Bwiz
Thanks for the reply and the welcome.