Cheap Linux Desktop?

A

Adam H.

I am new to Linux, and I want to start off with some fundamentals. Mainly I want to take a computer apart and put it back together to understand what is going on inside. Could anybody recommend a cheap desktop, ( preferably under $100 ) that would be a good starter to take apart and put back together? Thanks a lot! :)

This is not really a Linux question, it is a Computer question...

If you want a BRANDED desktop computer you are missing out on so many anonymous, beige, un-branded boxes that people might have built themselves.

Look on ebay etc at second user computers. Look for something like aDual-Core processor, SATA (rather that IDE) and if it has a separate Video Card look for something like Nvidia.

This is not really a Linux question, it is a Computer question...

If you want a BRANDED desktop computer you are missing out on so many anonymous, beige, un-branded boxes that people might have built themselves.

Look on ebay etc at second user computers. Look for something like aDual-Core processor, SATA (rather that IDE) and if it has a separate Video Card look for something like Nvidia.
Great, thanks :) I guess it really isn't a linux question, but the computer I will screw around with will have linux on it.

Yard sales and thrift shops are other excellent sources for computers you can take apart and mess with.

I've also acquired systems that were left out for the trash. Collect several of them, make a Frankencomputer. One Frankencomputer I assembled got Smoothwall installed on it, and is now the firewall for my home network. (And didn't cost me a cent.)

Go with the recycle market, lets keep the landfill down.

You can get some pretty useful second hand machines.

Building yourself can guarantee better compatibility. Generally anyway. If I had some extra cash I would be building a new desktop. Now, as for laptops....