Complete Linux Beginner looking for a guide

davidP7

Credits
Greetings. Posted this on archlinux , but thought it would also fit here.

As the title indicates I'm a complete beginner. My experience peaks at "I used ubuntu once".

Recently I got the opportunity to get a cheap notebook (Lenovo t440s), and thought this would be a great opportunity to finally stop using Windows. So I asked around what distribution to use, and somewhere I read: "If you really want to learn how to use linux you should start with arch - if you got that running you understood enough to actually use it."
mobdro kodi
Now I've encountered a problem. Since I have no idea what I'm doing and the guides I found require some sort of experience or know-how I'm stuck.

Is there a guide that total newbies could understand? Or should I start with a different distribution thats a little more "beginner friendly"? (I've heard good things about manjaro - maybe that could work?)

Last edited:

KGIII

Credits
It is my opinion that a new user should start with a user-friendly distro. In that realm, you have the Ubuntu flavors, even Debian, the various Mint flavors, and the likes. They have nice, simple GUI installation methods, large bodies of support, a wide variety of default software available, and all the help/guides you could ask for.

captain-sensible

Credits
Hi @davidP7 typing on phone so please excuse typo.The advice you got if you want to learn ..is perhaps a bit like if you can't swim and would really like to jump in the deep end. Now on manjaro I made the mistake of venturing an option without having tried it. Then couple of days ago I dragged and dropped latest manjaro 64 bit xfce edition onto a Ventoy formatted stick. It recognised my WiFi card .basically worked out of the box

captain-sensible

Credits