Complete novice with a major problem!

BJDavis

Reaction score
Credits
I don't know if anyone can help me and I apologize up front for any stupid questions! I really don't know where to begin, but I'll try to explain this as best I can. I have a desktop computer with two hard drives; one with Windows 10 and the other running Linux mint 20.2. Everything is going just fine. I decided that since I also have an extra 2.5 hard drive, I would install Linux mint on the extra hard drive to be used on my laptop. The laptop is (or rather, was!) running Windows 11. I have heard all of the horror stories about attempting to dual boot Windows and Linux so I thought it would be best if I completely removed the hard drive with Windows on it, and put in the clean hard drive to install Linux mint on it. That's exactly what I did. The installation went smoothly, Linux mint was installed and everything seemed fine. I then thought I would just reinsert the Windows hard drive and place the Linux drive in an external USB hard drive enclosure. Now, here's where the fun begins -- when I attempted to boot the laptop, I was met with a black screen, (GNU GRUB version 2.04, Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists possible device or file completions. grub>_ ) Needless to say, I have absolutely NO IDEA what that means, and worse yet, I have no idea what to do! I don't know how in the world I have messed up my Windows hard drive, since it wasn't even in the computer when I installed Linux, but apparently I did something!
I don't know if anyone can help, but it felt good to be able to "vent"!

You moved the HDD to a new location. If you select the "Mint" option in GRUB it looks for it in the location it was. Pressing "e", you can manually point to the disk,partition,kernel,etc. to boot with... Of course, it's a lot easier to use System Rescue CD since it has user-friendly tools to repair the GRUB boot menu.