Corrupt Files after an Update Slackware 14.2

Alexzee

Reaction score
Credits
During an update today it timed out and retried 3 times.

The man page for bzip2recover say:
bzip2recover takes a single argument, the name of the damaged file, and
writes a number of files "rec00001file.bz2", "rec00002file.bz2", etc,
containing the extracted blocks. The output filenames are
designed so that the use of wildcards in subsequent processing -- for
example, "bzip2 -dc rec*file.bz2 > recovered_data" -- processes the
files in the correct order.

I'm thinking (as I've never used bzip2recover before) that the example is how I would run it in the konsole.
How do I know which files to use bzip2recover to find out if they are corrupt?

bunzip2: Data integrity error when decompressing.

Input file = /tmp/slackpkg.arfe1R/patches-MANIFEST.bz2, output file = (stdout)

It is possible that the compressed file(s) have become corrupted.

You can use the -tvv option to test integrity of such files.

You can use the `bzip2recover' program to attempt to recover

data from undamaged sections of corrupted files.

I ran another update and slackpkg didn't return any more errors or complaints.
The update and the upgrade went well.

To date I still have no idea what went wrong.
I'm chalking this up to a mystery:-

I wish I could have helped, but Slackware is still on my "to do" list to learn.

Maybe Paul @VP9KS or @captain-sensible would have some idea, but perhaps they are not around at the moment (what? People have a life outside of this Forum?? :))

Cheers

Chris