Dedicate RAM to Video Memory on VPS

Modemi4

Reaction score
Credits
Hello! Is this possible to increase video performance on Linux Debian on VPS? For example, dedicate some RAM to be used as video memory?

photo5289479695538172329.jpg

Sorry for asking such a strange question, I am very new to Linux :)

Never be sorry for asking a question that's what we are here for.

Here's an article that discusses ways to improve video performance.

To change the amount of memory allocated to the onboard video card, you must change settings in the system BIOS.

IF your not sure how to change setting for your GPU (memory allocation) do some reading on the web.
Also, If your not sure what to do in the BIOS don't make any changes until you fully understand what to do.

See my signature line.:)

A VPS is a virtual machine so going into the bios of the virtual machine isn't going to be much to change, you're only way to improve video performance in a virtual machine is to change the virtual video card model and enable 3D video acceleration. With some cards you are then able to increase the video memory or it could be that the hypervisor needs to support it too, can't remember if one was enough or both is needed. But the real question is what are you wanting to do that would need extra video ram?

A VPS is a virtual machine so going into the bios of the virtual machine isn't going to be much to change, you're only way to improve video performance in a virtual machine is to change the virtual video card model and enable 3D video acceleration. With some cards you are then able to increase the video memory or it could be that the hypervisor needs to support it too, can't remember if one was enough or both is needed. But the real question is what are you wanting to do that would need extra video ram?