Dumb Questions about Finding Linux Desktop Applications

sphen

Reaction score
Credits
True Confession:
I am not much of a Linux desktop user. Sure, I always have a Linux desktop in a virtual machine and use it often enough. (I have some Linux experience with servers.) My primary desktop is a Mac, and I run mostly Mac applications.

Right now, I am at a crossroads where I must upgrade my Mac operating system (macOS). The upgrade will break some of my favorite applications. Ideally, I would like to replace many of the broken applications with free equivalents that can run on macOS but can also run on a Linux desktop for the future. The kinds of applications I need are not special, just typical personal applications for organizing photos, office software, personal task / time management, personal finance, various utilities, etc.

Finding good replacement applications has not been easy:
  • Some Linux applications seem to work with any version of Linux.
    • Example: LibreOffice
  • Some Linux applications seem to be written for specific desktop managers - GNOME, KDE, etc.
  • Distros seem to have their own separately maintained "balkanized" software collections
    • Lots of overlap, but many applications are limited to a specific distro (and its descendants).
    • I think many are very comparable to one another, with much common source code, maybe?
    • Sometimes there are way too many choices with only terse descriptions to help you decide.
Finding free applications (or anything else!) through web searches is not easy:
  • There are way too many bot-generated "best choice" mashup websites with useless, contradictory information stolen from other sites the internet.
  • Comparison websites are useless. Rankings are essentially random.
  • Many human-written reviews come from people with zero understanding of what they are reviewing. They earn money by gathering and summarizing the results of their web searches. The problem is that they do it without comprehension.