Execution of 32 bit VB6 programs on 64 bit windows client from 64 bit Linux Server.

M

Meenakshi

I am very new to Linux. We have a set of programs in VB6 which we execute in client-server mode. Currently we use 32 bit(and 64 bit) windows systems as server and client. Now for some requirement we need to use 64 bit Linux OS as the server and 64 bit windows as client and Pervasive 11 as the database.
Please let me know the hardware configuration for this requirement. Also i need to know the softwares/libraries i should install in the Linux system to execute these programs.

Last edited:

I'm assuming Pervasive 11 will be running server-side and that you will be using the native Linux version of Pervasive on the server? If so, we don't need to worry about that side of things. You say the clients will all be running on Windows, so that's another thing we don't need to worry about, which just leaves your VB6-based server application, which is a Windows executable.

In order to get your server-app running on the Linux server, there are three potential solutions that I can see:

1. Install WINE
WINE is a compatibility layer that allows Windows programs to run on Linux systems by translating Windows API function calls to their Linux equivalents (or something like that!).

But you should be aware that there are no guarantees that your original VB6 application will run properly under WINE, or that it will even run at all. Also, I'm not sure what the security ramifications would be when attempting to run a network exposed service on a server via WINE. WINE is fine when running a Windows application on your Linux desktop; but something in my gut tells me that using WINE is a bad idea on a server... But it might be worth looking into. It might be a quick fix to get the server-application working on Linux. Which is about the only positive thing I can see with this option!

2. Virtualisation