Fix disk and volume manager configurations for a cloned server

aakhamis

Reaction score
Credits
I have cloned a physical server that has Enterprise Linux version 5.1.19.6 as the operating system with Clonezilla to a VMware virtual machine and the cloning completed successfully. However, I noticed two interesting messages during the cloning process.
  • The first one was on the physical server and it said something like "pv uses old naming format".
  • The second one on the destination virtual machine after the completing the cloning said "clonezilla couldn't run the command update initramfs because it was not found".
I thought everything finished smoothly until I rebooted the virtual machine. When the machine starts I get this error and it doesn't reboot.
boot error.jpeg

I'm not new to Linux but I'm not an expert either. So, from this message I figured out that the problem is GRUB can't find VG where the system is located. So, I started to search but i didn't find any helpful information and also tried many fixes but they all failed. Then I used a live cd to enter the hard drive to see if i can fix it manually which I believe it is the first step to the right solution. Now I will explain the scenario that is happening. on the physical server (the source) the hard drive is partitioned as follows:

Code:
/dev/cciss/c0d0
        /dev/cciss/c0d0p1     (for boot)
        /dev/cciss/c0d0p2     (linux lvm)

The PV is already created and linked to c0d0p2. Under the PV there is a VG called VolGroup00 which contains 4 LVs (LogVol00 etc...). I will focus only on the first LV which contains the system. This LV mounted to the root directory "/" in the `fstab` file as follows:

Code:
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00          /

# I remembered the first message on the server from clonezilla that the PVs use old naming.