GPS / Mapping ?

V

Videodrome

I'm going to be making a road trip to my parents' place. When I used to be a commercial driver, I ran a laptop with Microsoft Streets and Trips that even included a GPS sensor. It was a neat way to keep track of my progress.

I would like to try any Linux equivalent if anyone has a recommendation. It would be great if it worked with the GPS sensor (it plugs in the USB), but if not that's okay. I could just track myself by the highway mile markers.

I could just track myself by the highway mile markers.
I always preferred a map to plan trips, and in those rare instances I got lost. As for keeping track of progress, I use road signs. It gives me something look at to break the monotony. (Can you tell I am not a fan of GPS?):)
Good luck though with your search.

I've had trouble with these, but I'm sure it's because I tried them at the last minute.

The one I used was called Foxtrot. It basically worked and recognized my GPS sensor, but the map data wasn't setup right. I have another trip coming up, so I might try it again.

OpenStreetMap looks to be worthy of a second look into details AFA GPS goes; should you wish to look deeper into mapping,
QGIS may be one way to, say, download DRGs from USGS in UTM and plot out key intersections for input into a GPS device as waypoints, perhaps.

The former I have little familiarity with, and may or may not do what you want; while the latter may do a lot more than what you may deem necessary for your purposes.

Yeah I'm thinking I was supposed to have gotten mapping info from OpenStreet or something.

Getting ready for another long haul, so looking into this again. Now I'm running Arch and found something in the AUR called GMapCatcher.

I'm hoping this could really work for me. I think it does pull from sources like OpenStreet, but then caches them in a file to use later offline. It also looks like this could work with my GPS, but I still need to test it.