Help needed with building a Linux PC

OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
Well POOP!
The GPU came today BUT its a knockoff...:(
LOL before sending it back ill pull the heat sink and look at the chipset.
 


OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
LOL well go figure. All the chips markings have been removed. :rolleyes:
 
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
Ordered a MSI GeForce RTX 3050 8GB GDRR6 ventus 2x xs oc. $180
 
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
:D...Yippee got the GPU and the monitor in!..:D
Now ive got to get the sound sorted out. Got sound coming from the monitor but not the pc?
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
11,205
Reaction score
9,720
Credits
92,979
:D...Yippee got the GPU and the monitor in!..:D
Now ive got to get the sound sorted out. Got sound coming from the monitor but not the pc?

Check your sound settings. You probably have sound being sent over HDMI.

Make sure that you have installed pavucontrol and then open it from the terminal with that same command name. Then, check the output tab. Make sure it's 'line out' or whatnot and not set to HDMI.
 
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
Dont have pavucontrol ive tried (sudo apt install pavucontrol) and got

Waiting for cache lock: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock-frontend. It is held by process 5049 (packagekitd)
Then i tried using software manager with no luck.
Rebooted and tried update manager and get
"can not Proceed Anther process is currently using the package management system..."
Reboot try all again and same thing.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,728
Reaction score
6,378
Credits
51,231
Install this from the Software Manager

pulseaudio

1702505385486.png
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
11,205
Reaction score
9,720
Credits
92,979
"can not Proceed Anther process is currently using the package management system..."

The best choice is to wait for that process to finish.


You might be able to click on the sound icon in your system tray and access some settings through there. The key point is to change it from HDMI out as your sound output.
 
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
LOL Time shift is our friend!
After time shift i was able to download pavucontrol and it worked. :D
The best choice is to wait for that process to finish.
it was going about four hours at one point befor the time shift.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
11,205
Reaction score
9,720
Credits
92,979
After time shift i was able to download pavucontrol and it worked.

I wonder what was holding it up?

Ah well... Glad that's sorted. I figured that was the problem and that it was easily fixed by changing your output. I've had this happen before - except the display didn't have sound. I figured it was an output setting and checked there first. Sure enough, I just had to change to line out.
 
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
I wonder what was holding it up?
LOL i have no clue.

i have two HHD one works the other i get error when trying to mount.
(back up is the name of the HHD)
Unable to mount back up
Error mounting/dev/sda5/ at/media/t/back up;cant read superblock on /dev/sda5
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
11,205
Reaction score
9,720
Credits
92,979
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
Ext4
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
11,205
Reaction score
9,720
Credits
92,979
Hmm...

sudo fsck -p /dev/sda5 maybe?
 
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098
sudo fsck -p /dev/sda5
Error reading block 243826714 (Input/output error).
back_up: UNEXPECTED INCONSISTENCY; RUN fsck MANUALLY.
(i.e., without -a or -p options)

sudo fsck /dev/sda5
and reboot worked.
:D...Thank you!!!:D
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
11,205
Reaction score
9,720
Credits
92,979
sudo fsck /dev/sda5
and reboot worked.

I wasn't quite sure if the -p would work but figured we'd start with that one.

Glad it's sorted. I'm just straight up Mr. Fix It lately! LOL

More accurately, I've seen the problems you had in my own experiences. I somehow remembered them.

Did you do anything special for your keyboard? I ask 'cause I just replaced my keyboard with a new one and it's stunning for the price - so far. This has me interested in keyboards. I must have watched 20 keyboard videos in the past few days. A good mechanical keyboard, of which I've owned a few, can be pretty pricey, but prices have gone down in some areas.
 
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
11,205
Reaction score
9,720
Credits
92,979
Didnt even think of that.

I haven't purchased an expensive keyboard in quite a while. The one I just picked up is just over $20 USD and is pretty solid feeling. The top is even made of metal. They aren't true mechanical keys, but they're pretty close. They're similar to the Cherry MX Blue keys, which I have owned before.

They make a nice click without being too offensive and disruptive. The keypress is fairly firm but not in a bad way. I'm told that this model is waterproof but I've yet to test that. I figure fate will have me testing it soon enough. If it seems to hold up and be spill-resilient, I may order a few more to use around the house or hold as spares.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,728
Reaction score
6,378
Credits
51,231
@KGIII, what is the brand of that keyboard you just purchased ?
 
OP
Hillbilly H

Hillbilly H

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
476
Reaction score
413
Credits
3,098

Staff online


Top