Hi, im new to linux. Just switched from windows to Regata os. Need help configuring internet.

TalionRanger117

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Credits
92
Hi, im new. Just switched from windows to regata os.

Got tired of Microsoft.

So now im in linux. Installed it on Sunday on my desktop.

Been trying to set internet. Making progress. Got the wifi setup. But, can't activated it.

How do I do that? Im overlooking it.

Is it a command in terminal or is the way to activate is in yast manager? Or?

What to do?

Thanks.
 
Last edited:


darry1966

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
691
Reaction score
586
Credits
4,129

Welcome to the forums.

Have you set up password and pressed connect?
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
8,108
Reaction score
6,985
Credits
31,190
For the benefit of potential helpers, Regata originates in Brasil and is based on openSUSE.

Good luck @TalionRanger117 and welcome to linux.org :)

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz
 

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
3,462
Reaction score
2,290
Credits
25,766
Welcome to the forums,
you do not say what kit you are using, so i will assume a laptop,
Have you got the correct driver installed for the WI_FI card?
Sometimes when you make an installation of Linux it will automatically initiate a hard block [flight mode] check this is switched off.
still having problems then please install inxi and run from a terminal inxi -Nn and paste back the results
 

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
1,416
Reaction score
1,218
Credits
10,175
Hello @TalionRanger117,
Welcome to the Linux.org Forums, good to have you here. I'm sure there will be plenty of help for your internet problem. Be patient and it will be sorted out :) Enjoy!
 
OP
T

TalionRanger117

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Credits
92
Welcome to the forums,
you do not say what kit you are using, so i will assume a laptop,
Have you got the correct driver installed for the WI_FI card?
Sometimes when you make an installation of Linux it will automatically initiate a hard block [flight mode] check this is switched off.
still having problems then please install inxi and run from a terminal inxi -Nn and paste back the results
Oops, I forgot to put that in.

I'm using a desktop.

Will this command work on desktops too?

Whats next?
 

Attachments

  • 20221021_084357.jpg
    20221021_084357.jpg
    8 MB · Views: 63
Last edited:
OP
T

TalionRanger117

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Credits
92

Welcome to the forums.

Have you set up password and pressed connect?
Password? You mean for the account of regata os when login?

I have a password for my internet for spectrum.
 

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
3,462
Reaction score
2,290
Credits
25,766
you need to install the bcm 43 Wi-Fi drivers from the software manager,
or from the terminal
sudo apt update && apt install bcmwl-kernel-source


inxi works on most Linux distributions and all machines, when you get your Wi-Fi working you can check out your hardware by running inxi -Fnxx [but do not post this information, for posting use inxi -Fnxz the z filters sensitive information]
 
Last edited:

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,071
Reaction score
6,928
Credits
65,521
sudo apt update && apt install bcmwl-kernel-source

I believe they're using openSUSE, according to an earlier post in the thread. While it's a variation of it, I doubt they have apt installed and managing their software.
 

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
3,462
Reaction score
2,290
Credits
25,766
I believe they're using openSUSE,
Bugger I forgot that, I am not sure Fedora/SUSE have it in the software manager [long time since I test run any]
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,071
Reaction score
6,928
Credits
65,521
Bugger I forgot that, I am not sure Fedora/SUSE have it in the software manager [long time since I test run any]

Code:
sudo zypper install <package name>
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
8,071
Reaction score
6,928
Credits
65,521
Me? I have no idea. I barely know what's going on in this thread. I was just doing what I could to ensure you'd get good instructions from other people. I believe you need to install some drivers. I have no idea what those packages would be called in your distro.
 

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
3,462
Reaction score
2,290
Credits
25,766

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
8,108
Reaction score
6,985
Credits
31,190
G'day all - @TalionRanger117 , can you give us the text of the error? Copy and paste it rather than a picture.

I am committed to this Debian at the moment (updates) but when finished I have a Gecko Linux (openSUSE-based) and I can take a look for you.

Wizard
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Top