how to know that components are in my pc before switching to linux

linuxlover!

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
3
Credits
0
Hi
how can i get a list of the components i have in my pc in order to make a informed choice?
i run windows 7 64 at the moment

Also, i found a secondary hard disk drive what is the best way to format it and to check if it is still usable
tx
 
Last edited:


captain-sensible

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
2,609
Reaction score
1,756
Credits
15,708
you can try free version of speccy https://www.ccleaner.com/speccy last time i used windows I used ccleaner from piriform . it was one of my trusted software .

personally i would keep things simple and install to one HD .

you can use tools of linux install i.e you can format drive and partition from the linux distro you are installing. otherwise go for knoppix on a usb stick. you boot from usb stick and use it to format HD
 
OP
L

linuxlover!

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
3
Credits
0
HI i read it was better and more simple to installe linux on a different hdd.
Anyway, i do want to know the rpm and cache mb. the printed lable is not there so i search a way to discover those info
can you help me with that? also what other info are relavant to check?
tx
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,952
Reaction score
3,558
Credits
20,207
Did you read captain-sensible's reply ?....It makes good sense.

Did you run speccy ?......it brings out all the information we need to give you a reply.

Alternatively you could just list the specifications for your PC....make , model, ram, graphics card, hard drives? etc etc
 
OP
L

linuxlover!

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
3
Credits
0
hi tx for reply, i do have th free version of cclean . i did try to find where even with a google search but i can not find the place to click in order to tell the software to list my hardware, ....
can you help me with that?
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,952
Reaction score
3,558
Credits
20,207

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,952
Reaction score
3,558
Credits
20,207
lets go about this a different way

Follow the video instruction

 

Vrai

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2019
Messages
1,046
Reaction score
979
Credits
3,943
hi as i said i have cc leaner but i dont know where to look
Try downloading and running "Speccy". It is a separate program than CCleaner. It is made by the same outfit that makes CCleaner.
5038
 
OP
L

linuxlover!

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
3
Credits
0
ok its a different prog. i installed it and run it i can see. is there a way to save all the pages (multiple component in a text file in order to have a reference later?
 

mistermike

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
13
Credits
0
personally i would keep things simple and install to one HD .

me too. Much easier to make your OS choice at a prompt screen than to have to fiddle around in the bios everytime. What i have found though (assuming running linux/windows dual boot) , is that you need to monitor any restart or boot, otherwise linux loads by default. This can be bothersome during windows updates since windows typically requires 1 or more shutdown/reboots in the course of an update. If you go grab a coffee during a windows update, you're sure to come back to a Linux screen.
 

Vrai

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2019
Messages
1,046
Reaction score
979
Credits
3,943
me too. Much easier to make your OS choice at a prompt screen than to have to fiddle around in the bios everytime. What i have found though (assuming running linux/windows dual boot) , is that you need to monitor any restart or boot, otherwise linux loads by default. This can be bothersome during windows updates since windows typically requires 1 or more shutdown/reboots in the course of an update. If you go grab a coffee during a windows update, you're sure to come back to a Linux screen.
You can configure GrUB to boot whichever OS you prefer,
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
6,857
Reaction score
5,647
Credits
21,425
Yes.

Once you have your Ubuntu up and running, MM, you will have a Grub Menu - black screen (unless your Linux Distro has a Theme built-in) with a few lines.

In your case, Ubuntu will be on top, followed by an advanced options line, which in some cases offers a safe-mode style environment, in most cases the opportunity to use an older version of the Linux Kernel if an update has gone south for the winter.

Then there will be a line referencing Windows Boot Manager, and that is your avenue into Windows.

Cheers

Wizard
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
6,857
Reaction score
5,647
Credits
21,425
Broadly speaking, drive used for Linux makes no difference.

It can be a discrete drive on a dual-drive system, shared with Windows and other OSes, or on an external HDD.

My main area of expertise, if it can be called that, is multi-multi-multi-booting.

I have 3 rigs, but with my main rig and externals, I have a Dell Inspiron laptop, with a SATA 2 TB HDD, and a 256 GB SSD, with a 4 TB Western Digital external powered HDD linked via USB 3.0.

I am currently reorganising to tidy things up, but at one time I had
  • Windows 10 and 8 Linux on the SSD
  • 36 Linux on the 2 TB HDD and
  • 36 Linux on the 4 TB WD external
all bootable.

You are limited only by your imagination.

Wizard
 

Vrai

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2019
Messages
1,046
Reaction score
979
Credits
3,943
do you mean on a permanent basis . ubuntu will boot by default unless i make another choice (win 7 in my case.).
Yes, you can change the boot order and/or default boot on a permanent basis.
One way is by using an app called "Grub Customizer" (I've never used this app).
The other way is by editing the Grub configuration file (I've used this method numerous times).
Code:
/etc/default/grub
Here are a couple links describing how to do this:
I've read a few accounts of Grub Customizer causing issues - don't know if this is still the case or perhaps any potential glitches have been fixed, ymmv. Use with caution.
 
OP
L

linuxlover!

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
3
Credits
0
hii used balena etcher to try to put mint on a 8 gig usbkey. no succes, now even when i tell windows to format the usbkey it show me a usb key that is like 2 mb! how to restore it to 8 gig?
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top