I have sound issues with fedora 37

john12

Reaction score
Credits
Hi boys I hope you are doing great, I recently bought a new laptop, with windows 11 preinstalled, I decided to install fedora, and everything works really well, but I have one issue, When I plug in my headphones they don´t even get recognized by the system although my headphones work on other devices, also when I restart the system in the volume bar says "dummy output" and I can´t hear anything with the laptop speakers until I completely power off my laptop, and then the laptop speakers work again, I don´t know if is a kernel issue, I am new in Linux but I could really appreciate some help.

HP Laptop 14-fq1xxx
6.0.12-300.fc37.x86_64
GNOME 43.2
AMD Ryzen 5 5500U with Radeon Gra
AMD ATI 03:00.0 Lucienne
Fedora Linux 37 (Workstation Editi

3:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Renoir Radeon High Definition Audio Controller 03:00.5 Multimedia controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] ACP/ACP3X/ACP6x Audio Coprocessor (rev 01) 03:00.6 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 17h/19h HD Audio Controller

Screenshot from 2022-12-12 22-24-14.png

Last edited:

Which desktop?

1670903978399.png

Screenshot from 2022-12-13 09-54-50.png

Yeah is Gnome 43.2,and shows something like this, until I shut down the laptop and then I have the speakers working again.

Last edited:
Most likely Gnome 4.3 :)

In any case... In your setup screen above, when you click on the down-arrow triangle between Dummy Output and Test
Are there any other devices listed?

1670948032691.png

Last edited:

I have noticed that for whatever reason, Fedora, CentOS and AlmaLinux display their Gnome version like this.

1670948322487.png

However ...

1670948501924.png

The gnome-version file uses "Platform" instead of Major. So I don't think Gnome parses it correctly.

In any case... In your setup screen above, when you click on the down-arrow triangle between Dummy Output and Test