Installing "cactus" software and getting input file to run within it

R

Richardsmith1992

I am a newbie to Linux and I am only really using it to use a program for my final year thesis. I have got to grips with the language for the program but am having issues with actually running it in Linux. The program is called "CACTUS" and all documentation can be found at Sandia Cactus on google.

I have extracted the application file and I have made the executable as instructed in the "install.txt" file:

"Installation of CACTUS for Linux or Mac machines.

1. Unzip the directory and put in desired location. On terminal cd into the correct directory (you should be able to see the makefiles).

2. Create the executable by typing: $make or $make -f Makefile.gfortran on the terminal. The executable will be called 'cactus' and be located in the directory one level above.You can add the executable's location to your path so that you can call it by simple typing 'cactus' on the terminal instead of the complete path.

3. cd into the Test/RegTest directory $cd ./Test/RegTest and run the RegTest by executing runreg.py with the path to the CACTUS executable as an argument (or just the name of the executable if you added it to your path). $./runreg.py ../../../cactus or $./runreg.py cactus The output should say 'No differences' for all three tests. Note: if you have Python 3 installed used runreg_p3.py instead.
CONGRATULATIONS! You have successfully installed CACTUS."

I have run this and I didn't get the "No Differences" returned on the runreg.py. I continued anyway as I did not know why or how I could fix this. (This may be a root cause of my overally problem here)

As I progressed I have been trying to open an input file "TestVAWT.in" from TestCase2 with the following command:

./TestVAWT.in ../../../cactus