Intel Hardware Acceleration

jcarroll

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Credits
34
Hello, I have NCU10 with Intel UHD Graphics 620 GPU. After a recent Pop upgrade (and kernel), the video became slow, especially in web browsers. I believe the cause is because the OpenGL renderer switched from the Intel hardware driver to "OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 12.0.0 256 bits) v: 4.5 Mesa 21.2.1" which is software. I can't figure out how to switch back. Any Ideas?

Code:
inxi -F

System:    Host: nuc10 Kernel: 5.13.0-7614-generic x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: GNOME 3.38.4 Distro: Pop!_OS 21.04
Machine:   Type: Mini-pc System: Intel Client Systems product: NUC10i7FNH v: K61081-306 serial: <superuser required>
           Mobo: Intel model: NUC10i7FNB v: K61360-305 serial: <superuser required> UEFI: Intel
           v: FNCML357.0053.2021.0707.1420 date: 07/07/2021
CPU:       Info: 6-Core model: Intel Core i7-10710U bits: 64 type: MT MCP L2 cache: 12 MiB
           Speed: 548 MHz min/max: 400/4700 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 548 2: 552 3: 500 4: 549 5: 565 6: 500 7: 500 8: 504
           9: 1662 10: 600 11: 640 12: 592
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel driver: i915 v: kernel
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.11 driver: loaded: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa resolution: 1: 3840x2160~60Hz
           2: 3840x2160~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 12.0.0 256 bits) v: 4.5 Mesa 21.2.1

The system worked quite well prior to updating. What could have been the cause? How can I fix it?

Thanks for your time.
 


Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
3,740
Reaction score
3,345
Credits
18,329
G'day jcarroll, Welcome to Linux.org

Do you have Timeshift set up?

Do you have a backup of any kind?
 
OP
J

jcarroll

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Credits
34
Interesting..

There is an OS recovery partition that will allow me to "refresh the OS" without losing data. I will give it a try.
 
OP
J

jcarroll

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Credits
34
I found the issues and as with most issues, it was self-inflicted.

I use EagleCAD a lot for work and in Linux, it has issues displaying properly. One workaround is to set LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 for the session running Eagle. I was having issues getting the ENV to stick from within a script so I put export LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 in my .profile file as a test and it did exactly what it was supposed to do.

Once I removed it things worked.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Staff online

Members online


Top