Is it possible to have 2 Operating Systems booted at the same time. 2nd being live from USB stick?

aoib578

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2021
Messages
68
Reaction score
22
Credits
586
Is it possible to have 2 Operating Systems booted at the same time. 2nd being live from USB stick?

Say main OS being Linux, and then you switch to a "Bootable USB Tails" for some tasks, and return to main OS when you want; without having to restart.

Is this technically possible with 1 laptop only? Is there a software, technology or peripheral device allowing this?

This is for work or banking sensitive data, where i want to avoid my activity being monitored on main Linux. Thus usage of virtualization is redundant as if my screens get monitored so does what i do on VMware , for example...
 
Last edited:


SlowCoder

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
456
Reaction score
314
Credits
3,611
I think what you want is a virtual machine.
VirtualBox is cross-platform, and easy for beginners.
QEMU is more advanced with a little learning curve, but overall better performance and compatibility.
 
OP
A

aoib578

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2021
Messages
68
Reaction score
22
Credits
586
I think what you want is a virtual machine.
VirtualBox is cross-platform, and easy for beginners.
QEMU is more advanced with a little learning curve, but overall better performance and compatibility.
@SlowCoder

This is for work or banking sensitive data, where i want to avoid my activity being monitored on main Linux. Thus usage of virtualization is redundant as if my screens get monitored so does what i do on VMware , for example...
 

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
2,852
Reaction score
1,847
Credits
21,275
As far as I am aware, you can only boot one OS at a time,
 

SlowCoder

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
456
Reaction score
314
Credits
3,611
Your questionable reasoning aside ...
If you're concerned about monitoring software on your main OS, then you could boot to a live USB to conduct work "stealthily".

However, it seems you want to do stuff that could bypass safety protocols put in place by your employer, and running an unsanctioned OS could result in worse than a few boring work hours for you. It could also open your company up to potential data safety and legal issues. I'd also bet their firewalls may be set to block and/or log traffic.
 

bob466

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
510
Reaction score
358
Credits
3,754
I would say no...unless it's a VM.
happy0006.gif

In my Tower I have two SSDs...one has Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.1...the other Linux Mint Cinnamon 20.1...If I were to plug in both and boot I'd get a conflict.
scared0008.gif
 
Last edited:

SlowCoder

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
456
Reaction score
314
Credits
3,611
In my Tower I have two SSDs...one has Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.1...the other Linux Mint Cinnamon 20.1...If I were to plug in both and boot I'd get a conflict.
scared0008.gif
A little off-topic for this thread, but I bet each of your SSDs has a EFI partition with the boot flag set. You can only have 1 partition with boot flag, else UEFI boot gets confused.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,789
Reaction score
4,106
Credits
27,542
""where i want to avoid my activity being monitored on main Linux.""

Exactly how does that happen ??
 

bob466

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
510
Reaction score
358
Credits
3,754
You can boot to the live ISO and mount your main Drive ie...to use Timeshift.
happy0035.gif
 
OP
A

aoib578

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2021
Messages
68
Reaction score
22
Credits
586
Your questionable reasoning aside ...
If you're concerned about monitoring software on your main OS, then you could boot to a live USB to conduct work "stealthily".

However, it seems you want to do stuff that could bypass safety protocols put in place by your employer, and running an unsanctioned OS could result in worse than a few boring work hours for you. It could also open your company up to potential data safety and legal issues. I'd also bet their firewalls may be set to block and/or log traffic.
@SlowCoder

The work example was one of a few that came to my mind.
I am self employed.
By monitoring i meant ISP, hackers, etc.

Hibernating and powering on the machine works!
But then i get to bitlocker, and have to reboot again before i am back at main OS.
It's time consuming.

Another solution is a 2nd machine, right?
Can achieve what i want with a PC Stick?
But how to switch between the laptop and the PC Stick with the the same external monitors, mouse and keyboard?
Or i will need duplicate of everything?

If this is the case it's better to get a 2nd laptop.
 
Last edited:

Old Tom Bombadil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
109
Reaction score
141
Credits
1,013
But how to switch between the laptop and the PC Stick with the the same external monitors, mouse and keyboard? Or i will need duplicate of everything?
While you can't run 2 or more operating systems at the same time on the same computer (except as virtual machines)... you can control multiple computers at the same time with a KVM switch.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,900
Reaction score
3,527
Credits
35,667
@Old Tom Bombadil

With the KVM Switch I should be able to switch between my laptop and a Compute Stick?
No kvm switches are used to switch between two different physicals systems when using one monitor.
 

Old Tom Bombadil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
109
Reaction score
141
Credits
1,013
With the KVM Switch I should be able to switch between my laptop and a Compute Stick?
Only if your "Compute Stick" is plugged into a 2nd computer. And even then... I can't be sure that the KVM switch will work in that setup instead of a fully installed operating system on the 2nd computer. As @f33dm3bits said, it is for different physical systems.
 
OP
A

aoib578

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2021
Messages
68
Reaction score
22
Credits
586
Only if your "Compute Stick" is plugged into a 2nd computer. And even then... I can't be sure that the KVM switch will work in that setup instead of a fully installed operating system on the 2nd computer. As @f33dm3bits said, it is for different physical systems.
@Old Tom Bombadil

1 laptop and a mini tower for i.e?
I am googling but what is the smallest and lightest mini tower in the market? Are you aware?
 

SlowCoder

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
456
Reaction score
314
Credits
3,611
@SlowCoder

The work example was one of a few that came to my mind.
I am self employed.
By monitoring i meant ISP, hackers, etc.
Fair enough.

It's still sounding like your best solution is a virtual machine setup. When you have a VM, the host (main OS) and client VM do not talk to each other. They just share the same hardware resources. Even the network connection, including the MAC is disperate, with a different IP.

You can set up a firewall and VPN on the VM client, and whatever other tools you want, and it should just work as if it's a separate machine ... because it is.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online

No members online now.

Top