Is learning a defunt linux distribution helpful for beginners in linux?

• Thread starter lastspacefighter
  • Start date
L

lastspacefighter

Hello Friends, I am new to linux and I have an old book (linux 4th edition-Richard Peterson), and with it I have an old linux distribution (calder openlinux edesktop 2.4); now will learning this be helpful in anyway? I need to learn Linux inside out and then move to a newer version. I intend to learn both the administration aspect as well as shell programming. So, if you wonderful people can give me some inputs I will really appriciate it.

Thank you!

Last edited:

I don't think that an 13 year old book and a now defunct Linux distro will help you. Why learn twice when you can use an up-to-date version and learn once?

I have to agree with arochester. Some older books can be useful however and it may be worth hanging on to and reading through once you have a better knowledge of what is current and what isn't. The computing theory and basic Linux/UNIX sections of such books can still be relevant today.

The old distro however is really not worth the time and effort.

If you want to learn GNU/Linux "inside out" then you might want to think about jumping to less desktop/multimedia/beginner oriented distros. Distros like CentOS or Debian might be a safe bet as you will be able to dive straight into rpm or deb based distros.

Other considerations would be Slackware, Gentoo or maybe even Arch - but I wouldn't recommend these to complete beginners.

I have to agree with arochester. Some older books can be useful however and it may be worth hanging on to and reading through once you have a better knowledge of what is current and what isn't. The computing theory and basic Linux/UNIX sections of such books can still be relevant today.

The old distro however is really not worth the time and effort.