Linux distro for Haiti project

L

lucidbeaming

I would appreciate feedback or suggestions for a project I'm considering to build computer stations in Haiti.

A thousand centuries ago, I installed Linux on a box I wanted to break to learn. I'm a web developer and tech nerd, and got it up and running. It took a lot of searches, though. I welcome any pointers any of you might have about this project.

I recently went to Haiti for a photography-based teaching project and saw a defunct and unused computer lab with around six desktop PCs. They looked like a few Dells, an HP, and two home builds. Just from the monitors, I assume most are from early to mid 2000s. It was at an art center for street kids and they were pretty proud of what they had.

The problem was, none of them were plugged in or setup for use. From what I heard, the computers were all donated and a local computer guy helped set them up at the beginning. They ran whatever Windows version that was installed. For those that didn't, bootlegged versions of Windows were installed. Also, the main Ethernet switch for the internet connection was kind of hanging in the corner. They said the lab worked at first, but when things went wrong, there wasn't a resource to figure out a solution.

They had run into three main problems. The first is that net access there is spotty at best and depends on pay-as-you-go access. It also fluctuates depending on the power grid output and battery levels in the building. That means they couldn't always Google-the-problem, or get security updates (especially for bootlegs). The second is that users would click all kinds of banners for free games, video players, and other things they were prompted to download. The PCs became virus/malware infested hives of scum and villainy, and also unusable. The third was, "Whose going to fix this?"