Linux find command

kitty99

Reaction score
Credits
Hi Guys

I am new to Linux, but really enjoying it.
I am trying to find a method to find all files in a directory and all its sub-directory which were created more than a year ago and copy them over to another folder in the same structure. Eg#

file found is /mail/john/cur must be moved to /backup/john/cur -- > with the directory being created on the fly if they don't exist in the target directory.

Any help will be grateful.

Thanks
Kitty.

Kitty,

Instead of using find you might take a look at rsync. I use it to backup my files. In your case you might try this:

cd /mail/john
rsync --delete -avh cur /backup/john

The "-delete" option says if there is a file in /backup/john/cur that is not in /mail/john/cur then delete it. The result is that /mail/john/cur and /backup/john/cur are identical. Also if you want to try this out without actually moving or deleting anything you can add the "--dry-run" option like this:

rsync --dry-run --delete -avh cur /backup/john

Note here that dry-run and delete are preceeded by two hyphens even though here they may look like one.

gwood55

Kitty,

I just noticed your "more than a year ago" requirement. The rsync command I gave acts on everything in the directory.

gwood55

Kitty,

Here's a find command that may do the job for you:

find /mail/john/ -mtime +365 -exec cp -r {} /backup/john \;

/mail/john/ (with the trailing slash) is the source directory, "-mtime +365" says to look for files older than 365 days and "-exec" says to execute the following command which is "cp" to copy "-r" recursively "{}" each file that the find locates to /backup/john. The "\;" at the end just terminates the command.

gwood55

Kitty,

Here's a find command that may do the job for you:

find /mail/john/ -mtime +365 -exec cp -r {} /backup/john \;