Manager for VMs what do you use?

vikozo

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2021
Messages
55
Reaction score
12
Credits
442
hello
on my Laptop i would like to run, sometimes, some virtuell Maschine, one for bank transfer, one for kali, and other.
what would be a nice small opensource Manager?
have a nice day
vinc
 


rado84

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2019
Messages
528
Reaction score
451
Credits
2,408
I no longer need virtual machines bc now there's DX12 for Linux. :D
But when I used to use VMs, I used VirtualBox for 2 reasons:
1. Ever since VMWare 11 they screwed something up and it keeps crying that neither I or the VM have enough RAM (which was never true).
2. VirtualBox is free (no license needed).
 

dos2unix

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 3, 2019
Messages
1,396
Reaction score
1,021
Credits
8,596
qemu/kvm/libvirt

Only dislike - it puts the VMs on a different subnet than your host.
You can ssh and scp to them from your host, but not from any other computers on your local lan.
If you need them to be on local subnet, use virtualBox.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
6,190
Reaction score
5,562
Credits
49,899
I'm happy with VirtualBox. Any performance loss is fairly trivial in modernity and I tend to use devices with lots of power.
 

TheProf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2021
Messages
263
Reaction score
254
Credits
2,506
qemu/kvm/libvirt

Only dislike - it puts the VMs on a different subnet than your host.
You can ssh and scp to them from your host, but not from any other computers on your local lan.
If you need them to be on local subnet, use virtualBox.

I believe you can setup bridging, but I haven't done it in my setup.

 

arch151

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2021
Messages
18
Reaction score
12
Credits
106
I'm happy with VirtualBox. Any performance loss is fairly trivial in modernity and I tend to use devices with lots of power.
as long as it works for you. VirtualBox is not bad by any means.
 
OP
V

vikozo

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2021
Messages
55
Reaction score
12
Credits
442
Thanks a lot for all Feedback i think i will go for QEMU/KVM with virt-manager
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,640
Reaction score
3,348
Credits
33,685
Last edited:

jpnilson

Active Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2021
Messages
116
Reaction score
63
Credits
1,038
I had looked into using this and was able to set up a bridged switch. It is too bad this isn't a simple thing that can be selected and be done with it. I use esxi and can set up things quickly and with little effort. Some day I may go back and try out KVM out again.
 

gvisoc

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 29, 2020
Messages
389
Reaction score
450
Credits
3,987
Thanks to this thread I set up my quemu / kvm / virt-manager tandem. I will recreate some expendable virtual machines on them to play, and probably will be moving in the long term if it ends up working as you are making me expect.

I still won't be able to move (at least not that I know for now) my Windows 10 machine, as the cheap license I bought for it is an OEM and it's tied to the virtualised hardware on VirtualBox. But for what is worth I did do some experiments, and my no-longer-activated migrated Windows machine doesn't seem to gain any performance on KVM (on an Intel 8th Gen), even when moving the disk from SATA to VirtIO.
 

TheProf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2021
Messages
263
Reaction score
254
Credits
2,506
Thanks to this thread I set up my quemu / kvm / virt-manager tandem. I will recreate some expendable virtual machines on them to play, and probably will be moving in the long term if it ends up working as you are making me expect.

I still won't be able to move (at least not that I know for now) my Windows 10 machine, as the cheap license I bought for it is an OEM and it's tied to the virtualised hardware on VirtualBox. But for what is worth I did do some experiments, and my no-longer-activated migrated Windows machine doesn't seem to gain any performance on KVM (on an Intel 8th Gen), even when moving the disk from SATA to VirtIO.

If you install Windows 10, there are some drivers that you need to download and install after the Windows 10 installation.

 

gvisoc

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 29, 2020
Messages
389
Reaction score
450
Credits
3,987
If you install Windows 10, there are some drivers that you need to download and install after the Windows 10 installation.

Yes, I did install those drivers. I didn’t install windows 10 from scratch, though, but instead converted the machine and fixed the drivers.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Staff online

Members online


Top