Migrating from Ubuntu

Dimitris

Reaction score
Credits
Greetings!

As title suggests, I am using Ubuntu (which I have been using for about 3 months now) and want to move to Arch. However, I do not have a spare machine to experiment on and I'm using my laptop for work, so I'd like not to purge everything and just try my luck. Thus, I thought I should dual-boot and take my time configuring everything (failing/restarting/learning on the way) before considering "dropping" Ubuntu and fully moving to Arch.

I tried checking the archlinux documentations but in my newbie eyes I felt uncertain in how to go about it so I thought I'd post. Any ideas how to achieve the dual boot and then "drop" Ubuntu?

Thanks,
D.

Hi @Dimitris, and welcome to the site! Being a new user, I would always advise extreme caution, especially since your computer is important for your work. You don't want a mistake to happen... but they do sometimes when dealing with installing or modifying operating systems.

But we can at least sound out some possibilities for you to consider, and some with less risk of mistakes. One of the first things to determine is if your laptop has an older legacy BIOS (motherboard firmware) or if it has the newer UEFI firmware. I think Arch is capable of UEFI installation, but UEFI is more tricky. Also, I am not familiar with Arch at all, except with a few brief attempts where I realized that it is typically more difficult to install and setup than other distros. Would you possibly consider an Arch derivative instead, such as Manjaro, Anarchy, Antergos, Bluestar, or other? These derivatives are often much more user-friendly than the basic Arch Linux.