Need Help With Screen Saver and Sleep Mode

Snort McDork

Reaction score
Credits
I tried to find help with this before and no one responded. So I'm trying again.

When I walk away from this thing for an extended period, I return to find screen saver does not engage. Can't figure out why. Sometimes it does - even if I am running Gimp.

Additionally, if I am editing photos or writing and want to pick up quickly the following day, I can't get this to go into "sleep" or suspend mode properly. When I try to restart or wake it up, everything is "locked" up/frozen and I have to manually reboot to get it running again. This is frustrating because I have lost work when I've tried to go to sleep mode. I would really like to solve suspend issue. Have no clue as to why it simply locks up and forces me to do a hard shut down and start - meaning power it off.

Don't want to mess with settings since I am fairly new to this OS. Not comfortable yet with making adjustments I'm unfamiliar with.

Any ideas to these matters are greatly appreciated. :cool:

So people here can voice/type a reasonable opinion, which Linux are you running, and model , make, specs etc of the computer you are using, please.

I tried to find help with this before and no one responded. So I'm trying again.

When I walk away from this thing for an extended period, I return to find screen saver does not engage. Can't figure out why. Sometimes it does - even if I am running Gimp.

Additionally, if I am editing photos or writing and want to pick up quickly the following day, I can't get this to go into "sleep" or suspend mode properly. When I try to restart or wake it up, everything is "locked" up/frozen and I have to manually reboot to get it running again. This is frustrating because I have lost work when I've tried to go to sleep mode. I would really like to solve suspend issue. Have no clue as to why it simply locks up and forces me to do a hard shut down and start - meaning power it off.