New and Eager to Learn

G

GoodGrief

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Linux and programming (I just started the journey to teach myself the night before last).
I am looking for any person/group that would be interested in guiding me i.e. showing me what to learn first, give me pointers, answer questions, etc.
I don't have a problem with finding materials to read and learn, but I don't have a good enough foundation to fully understand some of the basic things I'm learning already.
What I'm doing now is going through "Beginning Perl" from the perl website. I read that perl was a good language to start.
The only goal I have right now is to learn EVERYTHING and make some friends in the community.

Running Mint Cinnamon.

Any input is greatly appreciated. :)

Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux.

I can be of some help with covering the basics of Linux operations and maintenance. Also can teach a bit of tools like Testdisk, which is just wonderful if you ever need to recover messed up hard disk (you just might if you get into disk formatting via the command line and type in wrong drive). Mint is a good starting point in getting into Linux for sure, it is quite user friendly and well-supported but still can let you dig into the more powerful tools.

I can not help with perl sadly, I am only knowledgeable in C++ and Python at the moment, i am sure some of the general knowledge will translate but more specific things likely will not.