New here, just wanted to say hello.

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Reaction score
Credits
Hello Everyone

I created my account quite a while ago but I never took the time to say hello, so I thought better late than never. I have been using GNU/Linux for a little over 10 years as my only OS, it first started as a hobby to pass the time and to do something(during a more difficult part of my life) but as I got to know know and understand Linux better I knew I wanted to work with it every day. I managed to get so driven that I was able to get a job working with Linux, now in the beginning years I was a member of a forum that died and lately I have been looking for a nice community where I can I can do my best to contribute some back, share ideas with other people who love Linux and hopefully also learn some new things myself.

In the beginning I used to jump around a lot using different distros. I have mostly used the most well know distros Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, Fedora, CentOS/SL/Redhat. Last year I switched to Arch and now I don't want any other distro running on my workstation. That being said I have also been gaming on Linux every since I switched over, in the last few years with Steam and proton it has gotten a whole lot better(before I was using crossovers to play my games) and have been able to enjoy a lot more modern games under Linux. I mostly like to play single player shooters like Black Mesa, Half life 1-2 ,Doom 2016, and Borderlands 3, etc. I also like to play some older games online with friends: Unreal Tournament 1999, Unreal Tournament 2004, and Unreal Tournament 3.

I try to find time here and there to learn new things, like keeping up with new technologies evolving around opensource and Linux. I am currently working on learning and getting better with bash shell scripting. I hope at some point to have time to also learn some python since it seems to be a really useful language to know when using Linux.