New to Linux

E

edward_haigh

Hello guys, I am fairly new to Linux but have used it a little bit in the past (as an end user).

What is the general distro used in an enterprise/SMB? If I was to learn Linux as a skill set, where would be the best to start so I could roll it out in a small business and manage it?

Sorry if this is the wrong forum to post this on, but I assumed it would still be classed as 'getting started'!

Regards

Edward :)

I believe that most users agree that RHEL based systems are in the enterprise environment though Debian is a close second.

Okay, thank you very much. Is there also a server OS you can download, or is it managed on the same OS as the users would use?

Also, what is Linux like in the worlds of virtualisation and also for example Active Directory/Exchange?

Okay, thank you very much. Is there also a server OS you can download, or is it managed on the same OS as the users would use?

Also, what is Linux like in the worlds of virtualisation and also for example Active Directory/Exchange?
There are many Linux distributions designed for Server use. RHEL is both desktop/server. Fedora is working on a server distribution. CentOS is designed for servers as is debian. (though debian is used as a desktop a lot).

Linux has very active virtualization. KVM is built into the kernel and provides virtual capabilities. Virtualbox and qemu are available also. http://www.linux.org/threads/overview-of-virtualization.6373/

Active directory is available for Linux. Our university uses it and the Ubuntu computers in the lab can connect just like the Windows and OS X computers can.

From working with dbas on a regular basis, RHEL and SuSE are by far the most popular, but both require licenses and/or support packages so are not really geared for individual use.