New to Linux

watson

Reaction score
Credits
Wondering which distribution to go with. I'm a basic beginner. I like easy. I am used to windows and android phones. My main goal is simple and security. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Watson

You did give some criteria, which does sorta narrow it down - but not much. Not nearly as much as you might think.

Security is what you do, not what the OS does. Regardless of the distro you choose, you will be the weakest link in the security chain. (This is true for all of us.) Security is a process, not an application.

So, next on your list is simple. Simple for you means something different to me - and to the next person, and to the next person. We don't know how you define simple or what you are capable of digesting or what how long it will take you to learn.

With that in mind, I'd recommend this link:

Do you want to go with something that looks familiar to a Windows user? Do you want something that looks more like Android? Do you want something that works out of the box, or do you want to customize everything? Do you want to have as much opensource software as you can get?

The list of questions is endless. This question will likely get you answers that show you their preferences, and that's absolutely okay - but they'll be telling you what worked for them and you should find what works for you.

If you're new to Linux and want something that works out of the box I recommend giving Linux Mint a spin. That's provided your pc has enough RAM and the right CPU.

What's your machines specs?

You can try it Live on a USB if you don't want to install it right away. OR> run it in a vm.

I personally would grab several distros, run them in Virtualbox, and play around with each one so you know which one works for you

It's not elementary my dear Watson!

I am also a noob so just my 2c. It is worth getting something popular so you'll have more chance of getting correct advice.

@watson
Greetings and welcome!