New user saying hello :)

bodeplot

Reaction score
Credits
Hi All,

This looks like a really nice site :)

I'm a Electronics Technician from Adelaide, South Australia. I'm exclusively a hardware dude now days. My current interests are RF filters and antenna design (hence my username). However, in a past life (in the 90s), I was a degree educated open source Linux developer (or "programmer" as we used to call ourselves back then). Two of my projects become popular in the 90s in the Linux scene.

I'm back here because I got access to some free web hosting. I decided to dust off and revamp a web space I created in the 90s. I came across some of the work I had done and become a bit teary eyed. This prompted me to restore an old X-Windows game (Some of you may have seen my announcement). It's been so long since I cracked open a C file. I kept on forgetting to put the ";" in the first week LOL :). I think I wrote my last C program in 2009 ?

Other than that, I'm an old X gen fart (I'm not grumpy though) whose into motorcycles and windsurfing. My career has pretty much finished now, and I don't chase it. it's a live slow and die whenever attitude for me now. Look forward to engaging you all in discussions :)

J

Hello @bodeplot ! Welcome to the forums and community! :) Looking forward to reading your posts! What's your distribution of choice? And what other programming languages do you know? I'm currently working on learning python :)

Welcome to the community!
I've already replied to your post about Nighthawk. As a professional C/C++ programmer, I'd be more than happy to take a look at it. See if there are any bugs to wrinkle out.

Other than a few minor mods to some suckless.org software, I haven't done a lot of C programming in the last 16 years or so. C++ only in my current job. But it shouldn't take long to get re-acclimatised!

Last edited:
G'day bodeplot, Welcome to linux.org

This looks like a really nice site