No "Install alongside ..." option when using an M.2 SSD

S

sacentre

Dear All

Newbie here.

I have been trying out many different Linux versions on a Samsung 850 Pro SATA SSD and usually see an option to "Install alongside .." when installing a second Linux version. After that, there's the boot menu at startup which allows me to select which one I want to boot.

I've now switched to a Samsung V-NAND 950 Pro M.2 SSD and no longer see the "Install alongside ..." option when I try to install a second Linux version. I've tried starting over erasing/re-installing but this hasn't helped. For example, I installed Fedora Workstation 25 x64 after first deleting all partitions and reclaiming the space. When I tried to install Linux Mint Cinnamon 18.1 x64, afterwards, it said it couldn't detect any existing OS on the SSD.

I'm not confident enough to try manually creating/editing boot partitions. I just want to find out what's changed and whether this is some limitation with M.2 SSD's.

Thanks in advance.
Trevor

Last edited:

Welcome to the forums!

Linux sometimes has problems with SSD's. A couple of quick things to try are:

1. Check BIOS setting that SATA is set to AHCI, not RAID.
2. While in BIOS, consider other settings too. Maybe disabling "secure boot" (enable legacy/csm) will help.
3. Install BIOS firmware update if available from manufacturer.

This kind of problem goes back many years, so there may be other solutions you can find on Google.

Good luck!

Thanks, atanare
I'll try your suggestions. Annoying to learn that there IS an issue with SSDs. I was hoping it was just something I was doing wrong.

I wonder if there's any way to clone my SATA SSD which already has the boot loader menu plus 2 Linux kernels on it over to the M.2 to get around it.

I know I can't use Samsung's Magician utility as that a Windows app.
Trevor

Last edited: