Noobie first post =) Looking for direction.

Hello everyone and welcome to my virgin post. I'm new to linux and to this forum, so please be nice to me.

I was being a Windows user for over 10 years. And just to give you an idea how good I'm with computer. I spent the last 24 hours to figure out how to download and install Debian 7.3.0 on my laptop. The progress pretty much stalled from there. I'm trying to learn the basics at the moment like how to extract archive, how to install application, etc. like a toddler learns to walk. And I will appriciate your help. =)

I notice that there are many online tutorials on Linux. But wouldn't the operation be different from distro to distro? Could you guys suggest some well-written and up-to-date tutorials for Debian user? I tried Debian wiki, but I can't find it useful. For now, I will wander off to tutorial section.

Kuma

I'm new to linux and to this forum, so please be nice to me.
That's asking a lot from us grouches.:D

But wouldn't the operation be different from distro to distro?
That depends on which distros are compared. The same general procedure is used by systems that use the same package manager. So installing and removing packages is generally the same. The procedures can be quite different if other distros are compared.

I'm trying to learn the basics at the moment like how to extract archive, how to install application, etc. like a toddler learns to walk.
The best places to read about the basics are the wiki and the Reference Book (http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/debian-reference/). Which brings us to this:
I tried Debian wiki, but I can't find it useful.
Which parts are giving you trouble? We might be able to guide you through.
I suggest beginning with the wiki section for Package Management. The first thing that would be helpful to learn is how to manage the list of package sources, install security updates and install/remove applications. Understanding that aspect will make everything else easier.