Podman / Docker on Debian Edu - can I set up containers with dedicated network interfaces?

ljhwild

Reaction score
Credits
Dear Community
As it's my first post, hello everyone and thanks for having me.
I'm an beginner/intermediate Linux user and I'm working on a project that requires me to launch 4 containers, but they need to be seen by the WIFI router as separate machines.
I've got usb 4 wlan interfaces and I would like to designate one for each container.
My understanding is that I would need to create 4 bridged networks, each bridged to a different interface, and then assign each container to a different bridged network.
However looking at the documentation I didn't see an option to specify interface to bridge to.
I've tried with macvlan networks, but they're so intimidating I have no clue how to set them up. Like which parts of the address I have to acquire from the router, which parts I can just make up?
And how to get it all up properly. I've watched like 10 tutorials and I just don't get it. I understand what's a netmask, but in the network configuriation do I make up a mask, or should I find out the mask of the WiFi network I'm connected to?
I'm on the Uni network, I can connect as many devices as I want but I don't have administrative privilages on the network, so If I requrie any information about the network I'll need to somehow get it myself. Could someone please link up a solution to my problem, or explain how to use the macvlans properly to achieve what I want?
I've been trying for 2 weeks on my own and can't figure it out. Currently I'm running 4 virtual machines to achieve the same result, but the hardware cost is intense, it takes 8gb of ram 4 cores of my CPU just to run some small clients that could be run in a containers instead within the same host.
I appreciate any input and ideas. :)

Edit:
Maybe this will be helpful to figure out the answer
1667484409749.png

1667484715302.png