Port forwarding - how?

rado84

Reaction score
Credits
I've never done this before (port forwarding), so I need some help. When I run a python http server, it opens only locally with address 0.0.0.0 and the port I've chosen. But nobody outside my local network can access it, so I was told I should forward the chosen port through the router settings:

4Orpl3m.png

The LAN port I'll set to the one I've chosen and the protocol must TCP (I guess) but the rest of the boxes are very unclear to me what they do. As well as what's the difference bw "LAN port" and "WAN port", therefore - what should I write in each box. I'm guessing that I should choose "Manual" for the port I decided to assign but that still leaves what should be written in "WAN port". I know how to get my public IP address, that's not a problem. But that box above reads "internal IP address", not "Public IP address", which confuses me.

As I said - I've never done this before, so please, explain it to me the way you're explaining it to someone with a room temperature IQ.

What I've mentioned so far. In order...

The IP address should be the private IP address of the device (ip addr).
The second should be manual to select the port chosen in the Python command.
Buggered if I know.
It should be TCP.
I assume the last button saves it as a new port forwarding rule.

Yup. I'm sharing the above to save some else some time. Ideally making it easier so that you get a resolution soon.

Look up your router on the following website and it will explain how to forward your port.

Last edited:
I've never done this before (port forwarding), so I need some help. When I run a python http server, it opens only locally with address 0.0.0.0 and the port I've chosen. But nobody outside my local network can access it, so I was told I should forward the chosen port through the router settings:

4Orpl3m.png