Problems in finding a working distro for my netbook

J

Junker

Hello,

I'm new in the Linux world.

I decided to switch from Windows to Linux in order to save an old netbook Toshiba Satellite L20-260 with 512 MB of RAM (442 MB for use).

I tried a lot of distros: Puppy Linux (Precise, Lucid and Wary), Knoppix, DSL, SliTaz, Zenwalk... but I have always the same problem: the Internet connection with that damned Atheros card (and its driver ath5k).

With Puppy I managed to keep working - only for a while - the connection with the "nohwcrypt" command, but the wifi, after a while, got down (although I turned on the Stay Connected option).

Now I'm looking for suggestions: Knoppix was great, but it wasn't able to connect with wifi. Are there any distro that can work with that Atheros card?

Thanks in advance for help.

Having 512 MB of RAM is the minimum for LXLE, Ubuntu, and Linux Mint. But they are all solid distros and I'd give them a try, although it might run a little slow.

Maybe a better choice would be Lubuntu... it's minimum RAM is only 128 MB, although that is a little unrealistic too. Still, it might be a little more speedy if it runs and finds your wifi card.

I'm surprised Knoppix didn't find your wifi, but if it would run on your netbook, then probably any of the distros I just named will run as well. Keep trying, you'll get it. There is other info out on the web to enable/configure Atheros if you have to go that route, but it will be much easier if one of the distros will auto-detect for you.

Cheers!

Having 512 MB of RAM is the minimum for LXLE, Ubuntu, and Linux Mint. But they are all solid distros and I'd give them a try, although it might run a little slow.

Maybe a better choice would be Lubuntu... it's minimum RAM is only 128 MB, although that is a little unrealistic too. Still, it might be a little more speedy if it runs and finds your wifi card.