Programs can't open the file manager to save/open/show files

pickypork

Reaction score
Credits
Hi,
I'm very new to Linux. When saving or opening a file from example Inkscape, nothing happens. I discovered this yesterday, when downloading a file from Firefox. When clicking the button, nothing happened. But i fixed it by changing "Always ask you where to save files" off, so the files now just download automatically. But still, when uploading a file, that box thingy where you select the file, doesn't show up.
Yesterday morning, I couldn't acces the files on my HDD. I asked chat gpt, and after trying lots of different things, I finally had my files back. I think the problem has something to do with permissions I changed when trying to fix this. But I really don't know.

G'day pickypork, Welcome to Linux.org

Do you have Timeshift setup?.....if you do, you can simply restore to a time before you changed permissions etc

What is happening to the OP happens to me too. But I'm using the Firefox AppImage, which might have to do with it. Probably because the main security setting is set to "medium" instead of the first setting. (In Privacy and Security/Enhanced Tracking Protection) Or... further down that same page, check for "Block pop-up windows", it might have to be turned off but I wouldn't if I were you if you visit many different sites and it's not possible to trust them. Otherwise this is very frustrating and I have to open the file manager on its own and dragon drop into the active page shown on the web browser.

BTW Welcome to the forums. :)