sed basic

G

guptaankit.0010

bash4.3:$history | tail -8 | sed 's/.* //' or bash4.3:$history | tail -8 | sed 's/.*\t//'

this command is supposed to delete leading sequence numbers generated in history command...bit it's not working

pls help and bear with me as i m new to linux

School work assignment? Folks here don't want to do your homework for you... that would not help you to learn. I can tell you that I am NOT a coder myself. I'm really, really bad at it. But with what you provided as a start, and with the sed command guide I found below, I was able to find one solution to your problem. And I do know that with programming, there is always more than one solution. Think it through... you can do it!

http://www.computerhope.com/unix/used.htm

Good luck!

I think this is what the OP is after:
Code:
history | tail -8 | sed 's/^ [0-9]\+. //g'

I don't think so, but maybe I didn't get his criteria correct. I think he wants to suppress the line numbers from the history output. Your code still shows the line numbers. While googling around this morning I did find another solution, so that's at least two using sed. Come on @guptaankit.0010 -- you can do this! :)

The regex I used in the sed command should strip out the line numbers and whitespace at the start of the lines output by history|tail -8. Which is what the OP appears to be asking about.

It works on my machine at least. Not sure why you're seeing anything different! :/

Another alternative would be to use cut:
Code:
history | tail -8 | cut -c 8-
But personally, I think sed is the better option! Probably also possible using awk too.

Last edited:
Not sure why I see different either. I'm using bash 4.3.29 as the shell, and I get line numbers with your first code example. The cut command works, but I don't know if his school assignment is to find any method, or if he must use sed. Yes, I found at least one awk solution also. I'm not a programmer... but I can google like a mad man! :D