Seeking perspective on grub / RAID boot problem

Niftyprose

Reaction score
Credits
Hello guys, my first post in this group. I will commence by saying that, while I've done a fair bit of Linuxing, I have no experience whatsoever with RAID and I'd be grateful for any input. The first para below gives context. Please scan before addressing my specific queries (will likely save you time if you do so...) The second details the problem.

I have on the bench in front of me an older server with a RAID array which ran flawlessly for years and was then mothballed. I've been asked to prepare it for sale. That will mean backing up any information it contains and then wiping the drives. At a pinch I can go straight to wiping the drives -- with a hammer, if necessary -- but I'd rather not.

The device started first time but now fails to boot in a very specific way. The Adaptec SATA RAID configuration software loads; the BIOS loads; grub starts to load and throws up 'Boot from CD / error: file not found'... despite the fact that the server always booted from hard disk. The prompt then goes to 'grub rescue'. Within the limited grub rescue commands, ls confirms the disk array names hd0; hd0,5; hd0,1; and fd0. set confirms that the prefix is pointing at (hd0,1)/boot/grub (and I tried all the others). When I try to switch out of grub rescue using insmod normal I get 'error: the symbol grub_crypto_autoload_hook not found'. I'd guess that a very specific grub component on hd0,1 has failed. I can't boot the server off my Rescatux recovery stick, and I'm further guessing that's because the RAID software doesn't recognize it.

Queries:
i. Is there some way to get the system to read the Rescatux stick before the RAID software loads?
ii. Is there some other recognized way of booting a recovery system under these circs (that I'm unaware of)?