Should I quit my job?

balenshah

Reaction score
Credits
I am a entry level customer support engineer. Looks like this is not a very technical job. The contract is of 2 years. If I leave early, I'd have to pay 3 months equivalent of salary. My degree is in computer engineering. IDK why I am doing this job. I wanted to spend some time learning various subjects like programming, software testing,ccna, linux, and get a job in devops or testing. Currently, I have to do little bit of work in linux and sql.
When should I leave my job? My parents forced me to take up this job as I was unemployed for a long period.
The job is 9-6 and I don't drive so it takes me 7.30-7.30. I can't even manage time to learn other stuffs. How do I deal with this? Please guide.

Getting another job may be more difficult if the employers can see that you failed to finish your contract.

I don't know what to tell you, bud. I'm too independent to let anyone else run my life, so I can't relate to someone 'forcing' me to do something.

Is there a possibility of being promoted or moving to a different department with uour current employer? If so, do the best job you can with a smile on your face and make them notice you. Can you apply for other jobs while working this one? Can you afford to break your current contract (without having someone else pay for it)?

I don't know how your parents can force you to do anything, unless you felt pressured because you were unemployed and living with them. If that's the case, I would work on fixing that problem first.

Ultimately it sounds to me like you made an agreement and should probably fulfill your end of it. Stick it out and start making plans for what to do afterward.