[Solved] I need support for ActionScript 3

h_achatz

Reaction score
Credits
I'm not sure if this is the proper place for this post, but since this problem ties to old Flash games I thought I'd start here. I repair and maintain an old brand of spectrum analyzer (I'm an RF engineer working in the telecom industry) that has a remote control feature. The firmware runs on a stripped down version of Linux, and the portion of the firmware in the spectrum analyzer (I'll now abbreviate spectrum analyzer with SA) that allows for remote access requires Adobe Flash with ActionScript 3 support. The remote PC must be on the same LAN as the SA, with each assigned separate IP addresses. The problem now, as you've probably guessed, is that the remote access feature no longer works. When I access the SA with my PC and web browser I get a message stating the Adobe Flash Plugin is missing. And if I load the Ruffle Flash emulator I get a new message stating Action Script 3 is not presently supported by Ruffle.

I've tried several 'work arounds' but with no success. One idea was to install a Linux version that was created prior to 12/31/2020 and that would have installed Flash Player on Firefox by default. I used to keep install DVD's of earlier Mint Linux distro's as they were released but tossed them several years ago. I can download an old version from linuxmint.com, but apparently they have been recompiled with Flash support removed, as it's not loaded by default as it used to be.

This is an important feature on this test equipment, as it not only allows for remote access, but also provides for fully automated testing via a script on the PC, which is a huge time saver. I suspect Ruffle will eventually support ActionScript 3, but I need the feature now!