[SOLVED] I'm new to linux and im having a problem with my gpu

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
2,633
Credits
28,122
[email protected]:~$ lsmod | grep -i amdgpu
amdgpu 6053888 0
iommu_v2 24576 1 amdgpu
gpu_sched 40960 1 amdgpu
drm_ttm_helper 16384 1 amdgpu
ttm 73728 2 amdgpu,drm_ttm_helper
drm_kms_helper 237568 1 amdgpu
i2c_algo_bit 16384 1 amdgpu
drm 548864 5 gpu_sched,drm_kms_helper,amdgpu,drm_ttm_helper,ttm
I missed something can you do the following.
Code:
cd ~/Downloads/linux-firmware-20210919
sudo cp -f amdgpu/navy_flounder_* /usr/lib/firmware/amdgpu
Reboot your system and share the output of the following again.
Code:
lsmod | grep amdgpu
dmesg | grep -i amdgpu
 


brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,249
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,426
Radeon™ Software for Linux® 20.50 Highlights

  • Provide support for the Radeon RX 6700 XT Series of graphics cards
  • Introduce full support for RHEL / CentOS 8.3
  • Introduce preview support for Ubuntu 20.04.2
 
OP
S

simis

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
18
Credits
337
I missed something can you do the following.
Code:
cd ~/Downloads/linux-firmware-20210919
sudo cp -f amdgpu/navy_flounder_* /usr/lib/firmware/amdgpu
Reboot your system and share the output of the following again.
Code:
lsmod | grep amdgpu
dmesg | grep -i amdgpu
[email protected]:~$ lsmod | grep amdgpu
amdgpu 6053888 16
iommu_v2 24576 1 amdgpu
gpu_sched 40960 1 amdgpu
drm_ttm_helper 16384 1 amdgpu
ttm 73728 2 amdgpu,drm_ttm_helper
drm_kms_helper 237568 1 amdgpu
i2c_algo_bit 16384 1 amdgpu
drm 548864 10 gpu_sched,drm_kms_helper,amdgpu,drm_ttm_helper,ttm
[email protected]:~$ dmesg | grep -i amdgpu
[ 4.210352] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[ 4.210389] amdgpu: Ignoring ACPI CRAT on non-APU system
[ 4.210395] amdgpu: Topology: Add CPU node
[ 4.210435] fb0: switching to amdgpudrmfb from EFI VGA
[ 4.210501] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: vgaarb: deactivate vga console
[ 4.210568] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: Trusted Memory Zone (TMZ) feature not supported
[ 4.212035] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: No more image in the PCI ROM
[ 4.212050] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: Fetched VBIOS from ROM BAR
[ 4.212051] amdgpu: ATOM BIOS: 113-D5121100-101
[ 4.212079] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: VRAM: 12272M 0x0000008000000000 - 0x00000082FEFFFFFF (12272M used)
[ 4.212080] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: GART: 512M 0x0000000000000000 - 0x000000001FFFFFFF
[ 4.212081] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: AGP: 267894784M 0x0000008400000000 - 0x0000FFFFFFFFFFFF
[ 4.212136] [drm] amdgpu: 12272M of VRAM memory ready
[ 4.212138] [drm] amdgpu: 12272M of GTT memory ready.
[ 6.775240] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: RAS: optional ras ta ucode is not available
[ 6.835416] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: smu driver if version = 0x0000000c, smu fw if version = 0x0000000e, smu fw version = 0x00412a00 (65.42.0)
[ 6.835419] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: SMU driver if version not matched
[ 6.835424] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: use vbios provided pptable
[ 6.896124] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: SMU is initialized successfully!
[ 7.149387] snd_hda_intel 0000:08:00.1: bound 0000:08:00.0 (ops amdgpu_dm_audio_component_bind_ops [amdgpu])
[ 7.362036] amdgpu: Topology: Add dGPU node [0x73df:0x1002]
[ 7.362039] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: SE 2, SH per SE 2, CU per SH 10, active_cu_number 40
[ 7.362972] fbcon: amdgpudrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[ 7.363014] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: [drm] fb0: amdgpudrmfb frame buffer device
[ 7.387250] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring gfx_0.0.0 uses VM inv eng 0 on hub 0
[ 7.387251] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.0.0 uses VM inv eng 1 on hub 0
[ 7.387252] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.1.0 uses VM inv eng 4 on hub 0
[ 7.387253] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.2.0 uses VM inv eng 5 on hub 0
[ 7.387254] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.3.0 uses VM inv eng 6 on hub 0
[ 7.387254] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.0.1 uses VM inv eng 7 on hub 0
[ 7.387255] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.1.1 uses VM inv eng 8 on hub 0
[ 7.387256] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.2.1 uses VM inv eng 9 on hub 0
[ 7.387257] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring comp_1.3.1 uses VM inv eng 10 on hub 0
[ 7.387257] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring kiq_2.1.0 uses VM inv eng 11 on hub 0
[ 7.387258] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring sdma0 uses VM inv eng 12 on hub 0
[ 7.387259] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring sdma1 uses VM inv eng 13 on hub 0
[ 7.387260] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_dec_0 uses VM inv eng 0 on hub 1
[ 7.387260] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_enc_0.0 uses VM inv eng 1 on hub 1
[ 7.387261] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring vcn_enc_0.1 uses VM inv eng 4 on hub 1
[ 7.387262] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: ring jpeg_dec uses VM inv eng 5 on hub 1
[ 7.394409] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.40.0 20150101 for 0000:08:00.0 on minor 0
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
2,633
Credits
28,122
Radeon™ Software for Linux® 20.50 Highlights

  • Provide support for the Radeon RX 6700 XT Series of graphics cards
  • Introduce full support for RHEL / CentOS 8.3
  • Introduce preview support for Ubuntu 20.04.2
Code:
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 22 [Radeon RX 6700/6700 XT / 6800M] (rev c1) (p
rog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd Device 232d
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 142
        Memory at 4000000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=16G]
        Memory at 4400000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        I/O ports at 3000 [size=256]
        Memory at 90000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
        Expansion ROM at 90100000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [48] Vendor Specific Information: Len=08 <?>
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [64] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
        Capabilities: [150] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [200] Physical Resizable BAR
        Capabilities: [240] Power Budgeting <?>
        Capabilities: [270] Secondary PCI Express
        Capabilities: [2a0] Access Control Services
        Capabilities: [2d0] Process Address Space ID (PASID)
        Capabilities: [320] Latency Tolerance Reporting
        Capabilities: [410] Physical Layer 16.0 GT/s <?>
        Capabilities: [440] Lane Margining at the Receiver <?>
        Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
        Kernel modules: amdgpu
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
2,633
Credits
28,122
[email protected]:~$ dmesg | grep -i amdgpu
[ 4.210352] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[ 7.394409] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.40.0 20150101 for 0000:08:00.0 on minor 0
That looks similar to what I see with dmesg using that same graphics card.
Code:
[    1.201240] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[    3.978759] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.42.0 20150101 for 0000:03:00.0 on minor 0
Can you run the following.
Code:
lspci -v
Then look for "VGA compatible controller" and from there copy everything for that device and post it here, you can look at my previous post as an example because that's what it looks like what I'm looking for.
 
OP
S

simis

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
18
Credits
337
That looks similar to what I see with dmesg using that same graphics card.
Code:
[    1.201240] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[    3.978759] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.42.0 20150101 for 0000:03:00.0 on minor 0
Can you run the following.
Code:
lspci -v
Then look for "VGA compatible controller" and from there copy everything for that device and post it here, you can look at my previous post as an example because that's what it looks like what I'm looking for.
08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 73df (rev c1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 0e36
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 88
Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=2M]
I/O ports at e000
Memory at fc900000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
Capabilities: <access denied>
Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
Kernel modules: amdgpu
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
2,633
Credits
28,122
Looks like it's using the correct driver, can you share the output of the following as well.
Code:
lspci |grep -i vga
xrandr | head -n1
 
OP
S

simis

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
18
Credits
337
Looks like it's using the correct driver, can you share the output of the following as well.
Code:
lspci |grep -i vga
xrandr | head -n1
[email protected]:~$ lspci |grep -i vga
08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 73df (rev c1)
[email protected]:~$ xrandr | head -n1
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
2,633
Credits
28,122
[email protected]:~$ lspci |grep -i vga
08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 73df (rev c1)
[email protected]:~$ xrandr | head -n1
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
And can you share the output of this, just a check but it's probably already what I think it should be.
Code:
dpkg --list | grep mesa-dri
 
OP
S

simis

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
18
Credits
337
And can you share the output of this, just a check but it's probably already what I think it should be.
Code:
dpkg --list | grep mesa-dri
[email protected]:~$ dpkg --list | grep mesa-dri
ii libgl1-mesa-dri:amd64 21.0.3-0ubuntu0.3~20.04.1 amd64 free implementation of the OpenGL API -- DRI modules
ii libgl1-mesa-dri:i386 21.0.3-0ubuntu0.3~20.04.1 i386 free implementation of the OpenGL API -- DRI modules
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
2,633
Credits
28,122
Okay so your are not getting the firmware error anymore which you were having before.
[ 4.433819] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: Direct firmware load for amdgpu/navy_flounder_sos.bin failed with error -2
[ 4.433821] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: failed to init sos firmware
[ 4.433823] [drm:psp_sw_init [amdgpu]] *ERROR* Failed to load psp firmware!
[ 4.433914] [drm:amdgpu_device_ip_init [amdgpu]] *ERROR* sw_init of IP block <psp> failed -2
[ 4.434001] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: amdgpu_device_ip_init failed
[ 4.434005] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: Fatal error during GPU init
[ 4.434023] amdgpu: probe of 0000:08:00.0 failed with error -2
Because it's loading correctly now.
[ 7.394409] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.40.0 20150101 for 0000:08:00.0 on minor 0
And matches your device.
08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 73df (rev c1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
The correct kernel module and driver are loading.
Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
Kernel modules: amdgpu
So in short to make the firmware error from dmesg go away I let you place the needed firmware files in /lib/firmware/amdgpu

Are you satisfied and is your card working satisfactory now?
 
OP
S

simis

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
18
Credits
337
Okay so your are not getting the firmware error anymore because it seems to load correctly.

Which seems to match your device.

The correct kernel module and driver are loading.

So in short to make the firmware error from dmesg go away I let you place the needed firmware files in /lib/firmware/amdgpu

Are you satisfied and is your card working satisfactory now?
I fired up the game again and it does work great and looks great with the maximum settings. Thank you for your help. I really appreciate it. I do still have a problem yet though. I was hoping that the one fix would address this as well but it hasn't. I'm not getting my audio correctly. I may be missing some audio drivers or something. The sound will come to my monitor or my headphones but with an electronic screech and an echo with it as well. I appreciate your help thus far and I don't want to burden you further but I could use some help with that as well.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,893
Reaction score
2,633
Credits
28,122
I fired up the game again and it does work great and looks great with the maximum settings. Thank you for your help. I really appreciate it. I do still have a problem yet though. I was hoping that the one fix would address this as well but it hasn't. I'm not getting my audio correctly. I may be missing some audio drivers or something. The sound will come to my monitor or my headphones but with an electronic screech and an echo with it as well. I appreciate your help thus far and I don't want to burden you further but I could use some help with that as well.
Can you create a new topic for that because that is a different issue, someone else or others will be better able to help you with that problem. I would start though by installing pavucontrol and play around with your sound settings.

Glad to have helped out getting your graphics card working!
 
Last edited:
OP
S

simis

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
18
Credits
337
Can you create a new topic for that because that is a different issue, someone else or others will be better able to help you with that problem. I would start though by installing pavucontrol and play around with your sound settings.

Glad to have helped out getting your graphics card working!
I will do that. I really appreciate the help. I needed it.

Thank you too @brickwizard. I'm stoked to see that you guys are here to help out new people.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top