Today's article has you finding out which desktop environment you're using...

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
4,629
Reaction score
4,278
Credits
37,176
Oddly, it was a timely article - because I just responded to someone with this very question at just about the time the article would have been published. A fortuitous coincidence indeed!

Anyhow, all sorts of people don't know what DE they're using - 'cause they're new and don't know the lingo or just aren't sure what they're doing.


Feedback is awesome.
 


smooth_buddha

Active Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Messages
320
Reaction score
208
Credits
1,270
Oddly, it was a timely article - because I just responded to someone with this very question at just about the time the article would have been published. A fortuitous coincidence indeed!

Anyhow, all sorts of people don't know what DE they're using - 'cause they're new and don't know the lingo or just aren't sure what they're doing.


Feedback is awesome.
neofetch is cool i have mine to run in the .bashrc file so ev time i open terminal neofetch comes up with OS logo
 
D

Deleted member 128018

Guest
neofetch or screenfetch didn't work for me on PCLinuxOS I had to use the echo commands.

I'm laying odds that neofetch or screenfetch isn't installed by default.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

smooth_buddha

Active Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Messages
320
Reaction score
208
Credits
1,270
neofetch or screenfetch worked for me on PCLinuxOS I had to use the echo commands.

I'm laying odds that neofetch or screenfetch isn't installed by default.
no you usually have to install screenfetch or neofetch as it doesnt ussuallly come default.

There is also another alternative ive tried called CPU-X for linux, the equivelanet to windows CPU-Z tool. It looks pretty good
 

smooth_buddha

Active Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Messages
320
Reaction score
208
Credits
1,270
Heres my neofetch on terminal. (my terminal emunlator is terminology) with neo matrix background lol on my pi 400
neofetch.jpg
 

rado84

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2019
Messages
488
Reaction score
416
Credits
2,000
For a long time I've been using an alias named "sysinfo" for that and I've forgotten which package I'm using, so I have to open bashrc to see what the command was. :lol: Ah, it's "screenfetch -n" - shows system info without any logos bc I hate that ugly thing.
Not that I need it much, though - know exactly what's in my computer regarding hardware and the most important stuff regarding software and settings. But it makes it easier to be able to paste that info on pages where it's needed - such as github when reporting bugs.

I7XUaLK.png
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
6,875
Reaction score
5,666
Credits
21,592
How about inxi?

Code:
[[email protected] ~]$ inxi -S
System:
  Host: fedora Kernel: 5.15.13-200.fc35.x86_64 x86_64 bits: 64
  Desktop: MATE 1.26.0 Distro: Fedora release 35 (Thirty Five)

Cheers

Wiz
 
OP
K

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
4,629
Reaction score
4,278
Credits
37,176
I could add that one. I find inxi installed by default in a few places now, so it seems worth adding.

Good point, @wizardfromoz

I'll leave this tab open until I get to it, as I'm pressed for time today.
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
6,875
Reaction score
5,666
Credits
21,592
Over the spectrum I cover - Debian-based, RPM-based, Arch-based, and Gentoo-based - it's actually installed on more than it is not. :)

Avagudweegend

Wiz

BTW when you get the time to include inxi, I'll hit the whack-a-mole for a homer, as usual ;)
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
6,875
Reaction score
5,666
Credits
21,592
As suggested by @wizardfromoz, of Linux.org fame,

... more like infamy.

Hit it for a 5 :)
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Staff online


Top