Total Linux Newbie.. Need help setting up network

LMW

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
91
Hi,

Our business just purchased a new cnc plasma table, and with that came a new computer with Linux. We are all very unfamiliar with this system.

Fortunately, the selling company set up a lot of the programs we need prior to us receiving it, but I cannot for the life of me seem to get connected to our wifi.

The first day at the computer, I was able to connect to our network with no issue. Since that day, our web browser reads "Server Not Found" and I've been scouring the internet trying to figure out what to do, but i'm lost.

Once we are successful in getting the internet up and running, id like to also figure out how to connect to our Windows shared folder for easy file access, but this is not top priority...

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

-Alena
 


f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
Since it's for the business you work for the best option is to contact the IT department because there is no way of knowing how the network is configured for your work place and other restrictions that may have been implemented on the network by the network admins. Same goes for connecting to a Windows share on your work's network because it will be have to be connecting to a windows samba server with your credentials and maybe other things you might need to know, except you will need to ask the sysadmins for that information.
 
OP
L

LMW

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
91
Since it's for the business you work for the best option is to contact the IT department because there is no way of knowing how the network is configured for your work place and other restrictions that may have been implemented on the network by the network admins. Same goes for connecting to a Windows share on your work's network because it will be have to be connecting to a windows samba server with your credentials and maybe other things you might need to know.


I am the IT department :po_O Lmao.
JK but we are just a husband/wife + one employee business so everything we have set up thus far has been our own doing.

Our last plasma table computer used Windows, so connecting to the network & shared folder were a breeze. This is just totally new for us

Thank you for your reply
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
Can you open a terminal and share the output of the following?
Code:
lspci -nn | grep -i net
ip a
ip route
What Linux distribution are running on your new computer?
 

arochester

Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,549
Reaction score
1,219
Credits
2,547
Can you get any help from the people who sold it to you?
 
OP
L

LMW

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
91
Can you open a terminal and share the output of the following?
Code:
lspci -nn | grep -i net
ip a
ip route
What Linux distribution are running on your new computer?

Please bare with me, not the best quality photo

Just checked and it says Distributor ID - Ubuntu

79FF158B-1C13-4BBB-92C3-DE1987AF7FF3.jpeg
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
Can you share the output of the following?
Code:
nmcli connection show wlp2s0
nmcli connection show enp1s0
Were you trying to connect to the wifi or to the ethernet cable?
 
OP
L

LMW

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
91
Trying to connect to WiFi. It did connect a few days ago but can’t use the browser since that day.

image.jpg
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
How about?
Code:
nmcli connection show
 
OP
L

LMW

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
91
Does this mean I have an active WiFi connection?
image.jpg
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
That's fine, I was just trying to figure out the name of the connections which are available to you. Can you share the output of the following.
Code:
nmcli connection show LMW
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
3,988
Reaction score
3,661
Credits
32,046
You should also be able to call the vendor and ask questions, should you not get the help you need here. I suspect @f33dm3bits will get you squared away, but if not there's the vendor's support as an option.
 
  • Like
Reactions: LMW

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
Is it just a normal wireless router you are connecting to, because looking at the connection information you shared it doesn't really look like a normal connection.
 
OP
L

LMW

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
91
Is it just a normal wireless router you are connecting to, because looking at the connection information you shared it doesn't really look like a normal connection.

just the normal WiFi router we have had for a couple of years. But now that you say that, we do have a WiFi extender in the shop, could that be what you are seeing?
 
OP
L

LMW

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
91
The extender does not show as being connected to this computer so I’m not sure
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
just the normal WiFi router we have had for a couple of years. But now that you say that, we do have a WiFi extender in the shop, could that be what you are seeing?
No that shouldn't be it because your connection doesn't seem to have a gateway. I compared it to the wireless settings of my laptop, the two things I find strange about your wireless connection are these two:
Code:
802-11-wireless.mode: adhoc
ipv4.method: shared
Normal wireless networks are usually not "adhoc" networks normal networks usually use "dhcp" for their connection. Those two settings and my laptop's wireless connection look like this.
Code:
802-11.wireless.mode: infrastructure
ipv4.method: auto
By setting it to auto it means it would use dhcp to receive it's networking information from your wireless router. We can do one one two things or both if the the one doesn't work:
1. I can tell you the commands to modify your current connection to then see if it works.
2. You can remove the wireless connection through the GUI and then add a new one.

I would say we try 1 first and if that doesn't work you can try using the GUI to try 2?
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
Try this.
Code:
nmcli connection modify LMW 802-11-wireless.mode infrastructure ipv4.method auto
nmcli connection reload
sudo systemctl restart NetworkManager
After that can you share the output of the following again.
Code:
ip a
ip route
nmcli connection show LMW
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Latest posts

Top