Ubuntu Studio vs Linux Mint

BarBryzze

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2023
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Credits
380
Hi. I'd like to try out Linux (again) and came across Ubuntu Studio. Idk if I should get the studio distro or use mint and download the software as I want/need it. Since this is all a bit new I'd like to thing Studio would be the best, since it's already packaged with software I'd use but is it as stable/good as Mint/regular Ubuntu? Again, Idk if Studio just comes with additional software or something else has or needs to been done with it to get it working properly. I'm on win10, backing up my data right now because I want to run win10 when needed from a virtual machine in Linux rather than the other way around and use win10 as my main OS.
Is there anyhting I need to be aware of or I can potentially ruin when overlooked? I'm going to boot from a thumb drive to check things out first, but I'm also looking for feedback from people who use Studio or have used it. It looks good on the website, can't really find actual negative comments or reviews but that's a little weird to me. Why aren't more people complaining? I mean, Reaper got updated a few days ago and the amount of people being pissed off online about a little bug or even a change of color is substantiable.
TIA for your advice.
 


The Duck

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2023
Messages
396
Reaction score
398
Credits
2,786
The only way to know which is best for you is to create bootable media of each distro and try each one of them.

Keep in mind running as a live disto will be a bit slower and not the same as installed on a hard drive or SSD.
 

wendy-lebaron

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2023
Messages
516
Reaction score
176
Credits
6,994
Welcome to the forums I'm going to strictly answer the topic title.

Ubuntu Studio is but only one flavor of Ubuntu, with KDE Plasma desktop. It was changed in last year's LTS release "Jammy Jellyfish", away from XFCE. This flavor of Ubuntu is the largest there is in content probably except for one other, the Chinese one "Kylin" (shrugs).

Are you a music producer by hobby? Or somebody who is deep into creating Anime or other animated motion picture and stuff like that? Ubuntu Studio comes with a lot of software in that pursuit.

The Ubuntu "flavors" largely differ only by the desktop they come with. "Ubuntu" has GNOME. There is Kubuntu which seems to look like Ubuntu Studio but has less software. Xubuntu has XFCE as desktop. And so on.

Linux Mint is more for ordinary people. It will come with almost no multimedia-creation software. So the ISO is at least 1.5GiB lighter. There is the ordinary Linux Mint based on Ubuntu, and there is "LMDE" which is based on Debian, which is the "common ancestor" of the two.

It is up to you to give either distro plenty of your time, if you are able. Then decide if you want to stay with it. Don't be confused nor intimidated by the large choice out there. Stay with a couple of things at a time and check them out.
 

wendy-lebaron

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2023
Messages
516
Reaction score
176
Credits
6,994
TL;DR About REAPER and much more. It comes in three platforms: Windows, MacOS and Linux. Windows has been the main one since the beginning around 2004. The "native" Linux version came around circa v5, didn't read the whole changelog closely at that point. I had a license until v4, cannot afford one right now and I don't like how it has been bloated.

Keep in mind that Linux is not like Windows! If you come from using equipment and plug-ins, the procedure from WIndows to Linux will be a little bit different. If you expect to use VST3 plug-ins, it will have to be in the format expected by the operating system. If you rely a lot on Windows stuff, like I do (but I'm into VST2 32-bit) you will need to install Wine on Linux. Without Wine, there cannot be any emulation of Windows on Linux. The "native" version of REAPER only recognizes Linux-format executables whether they are VST3, LV2, CLAP or whatever. It will not care about Wine or Windows-format plug-ins. You will have to install Wine and use the Windows version of REAPER in order to deal with Windows-executable format plug-ins.

This might sound hard, and it is because a lot of stuff doesn't work properly. At my end, I cannot use VST3 plug-ins at all because I have to take up largely free software like Kushview Element.

Do not recklessly choose Linux only because you are desperate to get away from one aspect of Windows. It could potentially kill passion for what you are doing creatively. Ubuntu Studio could deliver the goods, but the software it comes with could be had with other distros. The thing is that in Ubuntu Studio, many things will be configured to maximize the experience as much as possible. You could easily do worse than this.(*) There is Ardour, which is a DAW but it is quite different from REAPER; basically, it is frustrating to a person like me who is used to working with freeware trackers. Qtractor is another program similar to REAPER but might be less impressive for you. It requires MIDI files to store plug-in automation. :O These two programs, and others require Linux-executable format stuff, not Windows.

These days I have an old copy of REAPER largely for time-stretching. I still have to use it despite the developments with Audacity lately.

I am not a professional music producer, only a hobbyist. There is another site to look for better information about making music with Linux:

(*) It is possible to choose Linux Mint instead and install Wine and other applications for the side of music, but many things will have to be optimized for audio. Because ALSA and JACK could be a demanding bunch. ;)
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
9,770
Reaction score
8,632
Credits
43,749
G'day @BarBryzze and welcome to linux.org :)

An alternative option is available to you, which you can use from any flavour of Ubuntu (well, you wouldn't need to with Studio) or Linux Mint.

Code:
sudo apt install ubuntustudio-installer

This will allow you to choose any or all of Studio's features.

You can read about it here.

https://ubuntustudio.org/ubuntu-studio-installer/

I have not used it myself, so no guarantees from me.

If you do decide to try it, I would advocate use of Timeshift to take a snapshot in case you need to restore.

Under Ubuntu you can get that from the Software Centre, under Mint it is already installed by default.

HTH

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
9,770
Reaction score
8,632
Credits
43,749
OP
B

BarBryzze

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2023
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Credits
380
TL;DR About REAPER and much more. ;)
Thanks for that elaborate info! It's just that I wanted to try out something new. I've used Ubuntu like a decade ago and when I saw reaper runs on linux it reminded me of that. Then I came across Ubuntu Studio and figured why not. I have an Electribe 2 with hacked firmware, which I was only able to install after they released a windows gui. I felt kinda stupid so I want to see more of that too. Also own a xoxbox that can load custom firmware, don't think I'll do it but I want to know how anyway. I don't rely on vst's that much, if it can send and record midi/audio I'm good atm. I'm not used to a particular workflow yet, and also curious to what Ardour has to offer. I completely forgot about it until today. I want to keep having acces to windows for the occasional game or need to access something quickly before I know my way around Linux yet. Windows has been slowing down my pc considerably the past 6 months because I for sure didn't do it so I'm annoyed by that too, especially because I don't know what it's doing, I can't tell from what I see. But it's a I7 4770 with 16Gb of DDR3 RAM and a 500Gb old Intel SSD so it might want some weight of it's back. I'm a bit worried about drivers for my audio/midi interface and stuff, but not too much.
I also need a good sequencer for another synth and it seems dumb not to use the pc since it can do all that and more.
G'day @BarBryzze and welcome to linux.org :)

Thank you very much!
 

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
2,101
Reaction score
1,992
Credits
15,247
Hello @BarBryzze,
Welcome to the linux.org forum. I can't add a lot to what others have already said. Just try them out see which one will meet most of your needs and is a pleasure to operate.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
11,205
Reaction score
9,720
Credits
92,979
It looks like @KGIII posted in the wrong topic LOL.
I've notified him

Oops! I was quite busy yesterday. So, I'll blame that.

@BarByzze - I wrote this yesterday and shared it in the wrong thread.

Ubuntu Studio uses a low-latency kernel (not a real-time kernel), something Mint doesn't ship with. In theory, I've never done so, one could change the kernel with Mint, but that's beyond what I'd recommend to a beginner.

 

MikeWalsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2022
Messages
683
Reaction score
835
Credits
8,963
@BarBryzze :-

The one thing common to ALL specialist media-creation-oriented OSs is their use of a "real-time" kernel, which drastically cuts down on latency (as a media creator, you'll know what I mean by this).

One of our veteran Puppy Forum members, who went by the name of "10wt3ch" ('Low-tech') - now, alas, long-departed - built his own DAW OS, originally based around Slackware 13.37.....hence the name (which stuck through several iterations) of Studio 1337. At one time, he was making a wee bit of baccy money out of it; had his own website, and just charged for the cost price of a good-quality flash drive with Studio 1337 pre-installed.

It eventually fell by the wayside; domain hosting and certification costs came & went, and didn't get renewed. 10wt3ch ended up making it available to the community, free-of-charge, then that, too, was soon discontinued. I snagged a copy while I could, which is now at my MediaFire a/c for anyone that wants it; the final release, v3.3, is based around Bionicpup, itself based on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS "Bionic Beaver".

Puppy takes a bit of getting used to.....but Studio 1337 is an excellent , totally portable self-contained DAW; you just unzip the tarball to a flash drive and run it from there. It's a DAW you can carry around in your pocket. Everything you could possibly want OR need is pre-installed (and THEN some). The Linux port of Reaper is there, as is the Windows build running under WINE.

If you want to take it for a test drive, you can find it here:-

Studio 1337

Both ISO and unzip-to-stick versions are there. It's well worth a look.

10wt3ch is a long-standing member of the Linux Musicians community, as mentioned above by @wizardfromoz ...


Mike. ;)
 
OP
B

BarBryzze

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2023
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Credits
380
@BarBryzze :-



Studio 1337

Both ISO and unzip-to-stick versions are there. It's well worth a look.

10wt3ch is a long-standing member of the Linux Musicians community, as mentioned above by @wizardfromoz ...


Mike. ;)
I've been watching more tutorials and reading up on Linux when I have time before jumping into it after seeing a response on LTT's video about switching to Linux and realizing I'm also very conditioned to Windows, so I'm trying to figure out what can go wrong and try making sure I got that covered. Downloaded Studio 1337, thanks for that!
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
9,770
Reaction score
8,632
Credits
43,749
Thanks for the update and keep us posted, by all means.

Wizard
 
OP
B

BarBryzze

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2023
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Credits
380
Thanks for the update and keep us posted
Thanks for the update and keep us posted, by all means.

Wizard
It did not go well. My soundcard stopped working after I installed Linux. I was running it from a thumb drive most of the day, then did a full install and everything kinda stopped working. I can't even watch a video on YouTube anymore. All I did was install Linux Mint from that same thumb drive. On top of that I got locked out of my Firefox account by mistake. Going to try again tomorrow.
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
9,770
Reaction score
8,632
Credits
43,749
OK. Don't press the Reply button at right, I almost missed this, as will others.

Use the Write here in your reply pane below.

Wiz
 
OP
B

BarBryzze

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2023
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Credits
380
So yeah, there's no audio anymore. I have a Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 1st gen that looks like it's working just fine, but there's nothing coming through after I did a full install. No playback via usb, not via the analog inputs.
Onboard audio is working when I plug in my headphones into the pc, so there's something wrong with the interface. I don't have windows installed anymore so I don't know if it still works on there. It's probably a routing/software issue but I have no idea where to start looking.
Going to begin with a new download and clean install now.
 
OP
B

BarBryzze

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2023
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Credits
380
I tried this https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=377183 but no luck.
It lead me to this https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=322259 yet also a dead end.
Installed pavucontrol and a signal is being detected going in and out, both internal and external (youtube and analog inputs). The only noise coming from my monitors or headphones is the crackling of a dusty potmeter.
This is the output of my terminal now. What am I missing? I don't need jack for this to work right? The ISO is an official Linux mint distro, installation was flawless. TIA.

barbryzze@PC:~$ inxi -Axxx
Audio:
Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio
vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:03.0
chip-ID: 8086:0c0c class-ID: 0403
Device-2: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio
vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
chip-ID: 8086:8c20 class-ID: 0403
Device-3: AMD Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590]
vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel pcie: speed: 8 GT/s
lanes: 16 bus-ID: 01:00.1 chip-ID: 1002:aaf0 class-ID: 0403
Device-4: KORG electribe2 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio bus-ID: 3-10:7
chip-ID: 0944:012d class-ID: 0103
Device-5: Arturia KeyStep type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio bus-ID: 3-3.2:8
chip-ID: 1c75:0288 class-ID: 0103 serial: 00000000001A
Device-6: YGTek Webcam type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo
bus-ID: 3-3.4:10 chip-ID: 1d6c:1278 class-ID: 0102
serial: YG_U700.2020.1224.1830
Device-7: Focusrite-Novation Scarlett 8i6 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio
bus-ID: 3-4:4 chip-ID: 1235:8002 class-ID: fe01 serial: 00000C22
Device-8: KORG electribe2 sampler type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio
bus-ID: 3-9:5 chip-ID: 0944:012e class-ID: 0103
Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-89-generic running: yes
Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
barbryzze@PC:~$ aplay -l
** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices **
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: USB [Scarlett 8i6 USB], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: HDMI_1 [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: HDMI_1 [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: HDMI_1 [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: HDMI_1 [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: HDMI_1 [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: HDMI_1 [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
barbryzze@PC:~$ pulseaudio --kill
barbryzze@PC:~$ pulseaudio --start
barbryzze@PC:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:
Kernel: 5.15.0-89-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.4.0
Desktop: Cinnamon 5.8.4 Distro: Linux Mint 21.2 Victoria
base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
Type: Desktop System: ASUS product: All Series v: N/A
serial: <superuser required>
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: H87M-E v: Rev X.0x serial: <superuser required>
UEFI: American Megatrends v: 2201 date: 06/18/2015
CPU:
Info: quad core model: Intel Core i7-4770 bits: 64 type: MT MCP
arch: Haswell rev: 3 cache: L1: 256 KiB L2: 1024 KiB L3: 8 MiB
Speed (MHz): avg: 3125 high: 3405 min/max: 800/3900 cores: 1: 2401
2: 2400 3: 3184 4: 3401 5: 3402 6: 3405 7: 3402 8: 3405 bogomips: 54404
Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics
vendor: ASUSTeK driver: i915 v: kernel bus-ID: 00:02.0
Device-2: AMD Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590]
vendor: Gigabyte driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus-ID: 01:00.0
Device-3: YGTek Webcam type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo
bus-ID: 3-3.4:10
Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.4 driver: X:
loaded: amdgpu,ati,modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa gpu: amdgpu,i915
resolution: 1: 1920x1080~60Hz 2: 1920x1080~60Hz 3: 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon RX 580 Series (polaris10 LLVM 15.0.7 DRM
3.42 5.15.0-89-generic)
v: 4.6 Mesa 23.0.4-0ubuntu1~22.04.1 direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio
vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:03.0
Device-2: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio
vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Device-3: AMD Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590]
vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 01:00.1
Device-4: KORG electribe2 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio bus-ID: 3-10:7
Device-5: Arturia KeyStep type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio bus-ID: 3-3.2:8
Device-6: YGTek Webcam type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo
bus-ID: 3-3.4:10
Device-7: Focusrite-Novation Scarlett 8i6 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio
bus-ID: 3-4:4
Device-8: KORG electribe2 sampler type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio
bus-ID: 3-9:5
Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-89-generic running: yes
Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
Network:
Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
vendor: ASUSTeK H81M-C driver: r8169 v: kernel port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 2.26 TiB used: 43.26 GiB (1.9%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD20EARX-00PASB0
size: 1.82 TiB
ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Intel model: SSDSC2BX480G4 size: 447.13 GiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 438.55 GiB used: 21.63 GiB (4.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb2
ID-2: /boot/efi size: 196.9 MiB used: 6 MiB (3.1%) fs: vfat
dev: /dev/sda1
Swap:
ID-1: swap-1 type: file size: 2 GiB used: 512 KiB (0.0%) file: /swapfile
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8 C mobo: 27.8 C gpu: amdgpu temp: 47.0 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: amdgpu fan: 795
Info:
Processes: 302 Uptime: 25m Memory: 15.49 GiB used: 2.58 GiB (16.7%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 11.4.0 Packages: 2181 Shell: Bash
v: 5.1.16 inxi: 3.3.13
barbryzze@PC:~$ alsamixer
barbryzze@PC:~$ alsamixer
barbryzze@PC:~$ pacmd list-sinks
3 sink(s) available.
index: 0
name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_03.0.hdmi-stereo-extra2>
driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
flags: HARDWARE DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
state: SUSPENDED
suspend cause: IDLE
priority: 9030
volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
balance 0.00
base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
volume steps: 65537
muted: no
current latency: 0.00 ms
max request: 0 KiB
max rewind: 0 KiB
monitor source: 0
sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
channel map: front-left,front-right
Stereo
used by: 0
linked by: 0
configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 1999.82 ms
card: 1 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_03.0>
module: 8
properties:
alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
device.api = "alsa"
device.class = "sound"
alsa.class = "generic"
alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
alsa.name = "HDMI 2"
alsa.id = "HDMI 2"
alsa.subdevice = "0"
alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
alsa.device = "8"
alsa.card = "0"
alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel HDMI"
alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel HDMI at 0xf7f14000 irq 35"
alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:03.0"
sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.0/sound/card0"
device.bus = "pci"
device.vendor.id = "8086"
device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
device.product.id = "0c0c"
device.product.name = "Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller"
device.form_factor = "internal"
device.string = "hdmi:0,2"
device.buffering.buffer_size = "352768"
device.buffering.fragment_size = "176384"
device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
device.profile.name = "hdmi-stereo-extra2"
device.profile.description = "Digital Stereo (HDMI 3)"
device.description = "Built-in Audio Digital Stereo (HDMI 3)"
module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
ports:
hdmi-output-2: HDMI / DisplayPort 3 (priority 5700, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
properties:
device.icon_name = "video-display"
device.product.name = "FHD-PDP"
active port: <hdmi-output-2>
* index: 1
name: <alsa_output.usb-Focusrite_Scarlett_8i6_USB_00000C22-00.multichannel-output>
driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
flags: HARDWARE DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
state: RUNNING
suspend cause: (none)
priority: 9040
volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, rear-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, rear-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, front-center: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, lfe: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, side-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, side-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, aux0: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, aux1: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, aux2: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB, aux3: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
balance 0.00
base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
volume steps: 65537
muted: no
current latency: 75.03 ms
max request: 155 KiB
max rewind: 155 KiB
monitor source: 2
sample spec: s32le 12ch 44100Hz
channel map: front-left,front-right,rear-left,rear-right,front-center,lfe,side-left,side-right,aux0,aux1,aux2,aux3
used by: 1
linked by: 1
configured latency: 75.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 2000.00 ms
card: 3 <alsa_card.usb-Focusrite_Scarlett_8i6_USB_00000C22-00>
module: 12
properties:
alsa.resolution_bits = "32"
device.api = "alsa"
device.class = "sound"
alsa.class = "generic"
alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
alsa.name = "USB Audio"
alsa.id = "USB Audio"
alsa.subdevice = "0"
alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
alsa.device = "0"
alsa.card = "1"
alsa.card_name = "Scarlett 8i6 USB"
alsa.long_card_name = "Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 USB at usb-0000:00:14.0-4, high speed"
alsa.driver_name = "snd_usb_audio"
device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:14.0-usb-0:4:1.0"
sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb3/3-4/3-4:1.0/sound/card1"
udev.id = "usb-Focusrite_Scarlett_8i6_USB_00000C22-00"
device.bus = "usb"
device.vendor.id = "1235"
device.vendor.name = "Focusrite-Novation"
device.product.id = "8002"
device.product.name = "Scarlett 8i6"
device.serial = "Focusrite_Scarlett_8i6_USB_00000C22"
device.string = "hw:1"
device.buffering.buffer_size = "4233600"
device.buffering.fragment_size = "2116800"
device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
device.profile.name = "multichannel-output"
device.profile.description = "Multichannel"
device.description = "Scarlett 8i6 Multichannel"
module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
device.icon_name = "audio-card-usb"
index: 2
name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
state: SUSPENDED
suspend cause: IDLE
priority: 9039
volume: front-left: 30419 / 46% / -20.00 dB, front-right: 30419 / 46% / -20.00 dB
balance 0.00
base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
volume steps: 65537
muted: no
current latency: 0.00 ms
max request: 0 KiB
max rewind: 0 KiB
monitor source: 4
sample spec: s16le 2ch 48000Hz
channel map: front-left,front-right
Stereo
used by: 0
linked by: 0
configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 1837.50 ms
card: 4 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>
module: 14
properties:
alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
device.api = "alsa"
device.class = "sound"
alsa.class = "generic"
alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
alsa.name = "ALC887-VD Analog"
alsa.id = "ALC887-VD Analog"
alsa.subdevice = "0"
alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
alsa.device = "0"
alsa.card = "2"
alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel PCH"
alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7f10000 irq 36"
alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1b.0"
sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card2"
device.bus = "pci"
device.vendor.id = "8086"
device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
device.product.id = "8c20"
device.product.name = "8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller"
device.form_factor = "internal"
device.string = "front:2"
device.buffering.buffer_size = "352800"
device.buffering.fragment_size = "176400"
device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
ports:
analog-output-lineout: Line Out (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
properties:

analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority 9900, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
properties:
device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
active port: <analog-output-headphones>
 

Members online


Top