VMware

C

ChrisPy

I am still pretty new to Linux and am trying to mess with it again. I keep hearing about vmware and am wondering
what anyone has to say about it or suggestions on which dist. are better and what not. Also am curious about hiding my IP and other online protection(s). How do you stop people from knowing every little thing you do on your computer???

Thanks.

Google Virtual box. Its very easy to use and most distros have it in their repositories so its easy to install.

Trails is a Linux distro specifically for anonymity. I've never used it, but you can read about it. I use distrowatch.org to read about all distros and keep track of new ones.

Right on, that's kinda what I want, but not Google lol. I want something non-conglomerate.

VMWare is good. They have a built in "easy installer" that can be annoying. I use VMWare at work to run Debian and CentOS, both run like a charm. The only distro I've had problems with is openSUSE because of that damn "easy installer" I couldn't find a way to disable.

Virtualbox by Oracle is another good option. I haven't used it n years though.

Anonymity is a tougher beast. If you use a Linux open distro (not Ubuntu) and ecnrypt your HDD your desktop will be fairly safe, the bigger issue is online communication, which has nothing to do with the desktop you're running.

https://prism-break.org/en/

I am running VMware player now...Win8.1 is the host and Linux Mint 16 the guest. The biggest issue I had was installing the VMware tools, used youtube for that. Yes it took time, but I had to overcome quite a few learning curves, one being I am clueless on Linux. Yet, I am using it now.

As to not being tracked when online? That is a tough one. I do know Firefox has add-on's to cover your tracks, how well do they work I don't know even though I use them ie Google Tracking 1.9.

Reducing the amount of tracking can be done by using Start Page and Duck Duck Go for web searches, instead of the evil Google.