WHAT ARE YOUR TOP COMMAND LINE APPS??????

smooth_buddha

Reaction score
Credits
I'm pretty new to linux but was trying to pimp my command line with some practical apps such as:

wiki- wikipedia
calculator -cal
links - web browser
cmatrix - matrix streaming code from the movie matrix
crawl - a text based game
fortune - everytime you type fortune you get a quote ( fortune told!)
vim - the vim editor
mms - no more secrets decryption code as seen in the movie sneakers ( this is similar to matrix code but it gives effect of you command outputs in encrpytion! pretty cool!)

I also tried wee chat but have no idea really what im doing with that one!!!

please share your cool command line tools or share ones that you like to use

:) :) :) :)

Hi!!

My favorites are:

htop is great to manage services.

youtube-dl to download videos (not only from youtube)

wget to download applications files

alpine - an Alternatively Licensed Program for Internet News and Email

notify-send - a program to send desktop notifications

mc - Visual file manager and backup tool for Unix-like systems

ffmpeg is one.
apt (I use Debian) is another.
locate (along with updatedb) is useful.
pip (for installing some stuff, like youtube-dl) is good.
youtube-dl is good.
calcurse is a program that I used to use, and it's great (though I haven't been using it lately).
curl is also useful for downloading stuff.
aria2 is a great download client for bitTorrent files.
libchatbot-eliza-perl (aka Eliza) is great.
There used to be a great commandline program that provided a version of Scrabble called "Scribble", but, alas, due to copyright, this no longer exists.
gramofile is a neat program for converting vinyl records into digital format.
moc a pretty nifty music player.
gtypist is a great touch typing tutor.
nano is a useful editor.

Last edited:
I live in the terminal!

Vim - the ultimate editor
Vifm- file manager using vim keybinds
Tmux - terminal multiplexer